We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab hotel”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2010

stayed here for one night whilst holidaying in new zealand. wished we d stayed longer. centrally located, friendly professional staff, and spotlessly clean. welcome drink lovely touch. only down side we had no view from room (but then again we had nt paid for it)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jms_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 543 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2010

Great modern little hotel room, the best out of the 4 we stayed in on our trip to NZ! The room was smallish but perfect size for 2. There was a little balcony but that was quite small and the view wasnt that great. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice and modern. They even supplied make up remover! and apples in reception! Loved it, thumbs up for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovesensation24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed here on a rainy weekend in Tauranga - we were really glad to have booked this hotel as we ended up staying in most of the time we were there because of the bad weather. The room was comfortable, modern and very clean. The only thing that disappointed us was the TV, which was small - would have expected a nice flat screen one even in their standard rooms. The welcome drink (you can choose wine or fruit juice) was a nice touch and it even came with a small bag of chips. The location is very central so the hotel not having its own restaurant is not a big issue. Overall a very satisfying stay, will stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

This hotel is in a perfect location. Step out the door and you are in the middle of numerous restaurants and shops. It is only a 10 minute drive to Mt Manganui and the lovely beach there. We found the parking at the hotel very good, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Even though the hotel was in the centre of the city it was extremely quiet and spacious. It does not have a restaurant but does provide limited room service.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank vickilovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on business. The room was quite nice and the king sized bed very comfortable. It had its own small balcony with a partial veiw of the main street. Large well appointed bathroom with a large bath and modern tile shower. Overall its quite a nice hotel but the only thing we felt let it down was the staff (and over the two days we talked to at least 3) they were not particularly friendly, when I tried to book online there was a problem booking on the day of arrrival and it took 3 phone calls to them to sort it out and over the time we were there they just left us with the feeling they were doing us a favour. You can hear a bit of activity (especially in the early morning) in adjacent rooms but not so loud as to be a real problem. There is alot of attention to detail in the room, mongraming etc and it felt up-market and new which was nice. Nice wine glasses and a very big deep spa bath (lovely).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We appreciated the secure car parking behind the Davenport, and the complimentary drink in the Rotary Club Room overlooking the water on arrival, as well as the central location. Our room was comfortable and stylish with all the amenities we required, but in a place called an Hotel we would have expected a restaurant and somewhere to relax other than our room. This did mean that the general feeling was much like a motel rather than an hotel. The majority of the block in which the "hotel" is situated is given over to service apartments and as far as we could gather these included the rooms overlooking the water. Our room looked over the main street which could be noisy when delivery lorries and rubbish collections were in progress. The staff on reception were pleasant and recommended the nearby The Med Cafe for breakfast, which was not only excellent, but can be charged to your hotel bill.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Beautiful clean hotel, right in the central city, aimed at business travellers. Have stayed here about three or four time. Very good value for money at $160 a night, (I think) for an executive room, which included a king size bed and spa bath. Can't fault either the housekeeping or the front desk staff. The best service I had ever had from hotel staff would be from the ladies at the reception of this hotel. One lady even remembered me from our stay in June when I was here for a job interview! The staff are always impeccably presented and I love their necklaces! Although there is no restaurant, there are many within walking distance and some of the restaurants allow delivery to the hotel. (I recommend the steak from Tauranga Club!) Parking is not a problem, it is free in the hotel's secure parking building.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sexyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $121 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing