We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Great place and very trendy design. Location is right in the middle of the main street but garage out the back means that parking is no problem. Comp drinks in the club upstairs which would have been good except for the staff who made us feel very unwelcome. Room was nice and new but the young people next door having a party killed the sleep. Overall was a nice place and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benched1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Hotel on Devonport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 530 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

This property is located in a busy section of Tauranga, within walking distance of the Strand, but it was fairly quiet. There is a parking garage at the back of the hotel, which is quite convenient in such a busy area. We were given a modern, spacious room with a comfortable king-sized bed, desk area and sofa. It had a generous-sized bathroom with full amenities (bath products, shampoo, blow dryer). Both bedroom and bathroom were spotless. We were given a voucher for a free drink in the club upon arrival. It was a beautiful setting to relax and look out over the water. We were able to check e-mail in the business center for $ 10 NZ for 1/2 hour. Reception closes at 10:00 pm, so all requests had to be made before then.

We went out for dinner and a long walk and when we returned we were told the lift was out of order and that service had been called, but they did not know when it would be fixed. We were told we would have to walk up to our room on the 7th floor. We had seen other elevators when we went to the business center and we asked about those and were told that they were not for guests of the hotel and the staff would get in trouble if they let us use them. Excuse me???

Not wanting to appear as pushy Americans, but also not wanting to walk up 7 flights of stairs at this time of night when other options were available, we very gently, but firmly, asked the young person to escort us up on the other elevator and she did.

If you need to stay in Tauranga, this is a good option. However, if you are looking for more beach action, you must drive to Manganui.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Upon check in, we were unexpectedly upgraded to an executive room, which was outstanding. The room, bathroom, and amenities were all top shelf. The complimentary drink was a nice touch, as were the apples available in the lobby. It was an extremely nice hotel at a reasonable price and the staff was very helpful. The only two negative comments are: first of all, that they charged (a lot!) for the internet use which we had difficulty using because it wasn't very high speed. We were told that probably a lot of people were "using it at the same time". Well, so? Aren't there hotels all over the world that have a lot of people accessing their internet at the same time, and still manage to provide good internet? In addition, we were unable to do a video conference, which we had pre-arranged. Secondly, the parking garage was a bit confusing initially. You had to check-in to receive the card for the parking garage, but there was nowhere to park to check-in. The entrance to the garage was on the back side of the hotel, so we walked around the block a couple of times. Once we had it figured out, it was no problem, but the initial check-in was not as smooth as it should have been for a hotel of this quality. These were fairly minor negatives and we would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

This was a fantastic hotel. The room was large and very modern and the bathroom was a good size. The only downside was that there wasn't a restaurant in the hotel and Taurangna is not a great place to go out for a meal on a Sunday night as nothing is open. We did get a nice meal at the italian place just over the street. Breakfast the next day we had in a cafe down the street.

I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-A-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Can't fault this Hotel - have stayed here on Two occasions. Once for a Personal Birthday celebration and once again for a Business trip. We have experienced the Superior rooms with City Views and the Superior room with Sea Views - personally I would recommend spending a little extra for the great view of sunset over the Harbour Bridge! Loved the Free drinks on arrival, the complimentary apples in the lobby, and most of all the lovely staff who can never do too much to help. 10/10

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pintado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Staying at the Hotel on Devonport was a really pleasant experience, thank you to other reviewers for pointing the way. Reception were very welcoming and the rooms were as described, spacious and clean with an excellent bathroom. The hotel does not own the bar, so it is worth checking what time they plan to close. There are plenty of bars and Restaurants around the hotel, so a nightcap is not a problem if you need one.
Also if you order breakfast it is brought to your room. We ate at Cafe Med , just 3/4 doors away and had a great breakfast surrounded by locals. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LlewllynBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Although our romantic holiday weeked away coincided with a "weather bomb" we still managed to have a fabulous time in Tauranga, thanks to the clean, modern and optimally located Hotel on Devonport. Located in the centre of Tauranga, we were only brifely exposed to the gale force winds and driving rain as we ventured out to excellent local shopping, cafes and restaurants. Although there is no kitchen onsite, we were provided with a drink on arrival and could order meals, delivered to our room, from several excellent restaurants. Our executive room offered a partial harbour view (and, on this occassion, an entertaining view over the tearing roofing iron and wind-lashed trees in central Tauranga during the storm!) There was also a large, modern bathroom with a delightful spa bath and an excellent widescreen tv with a good selection of channels.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perpetual_Student_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#31 of 57 in Tauranga
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $124 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing