We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a handy position”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a handy position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. It is a very popular hotel and there were no vacancies while we stayed. The room we had was very large with a good sized bathroom, but we believe that is was a room for people with disabilities. Having peeked in others we think that all the rooms are of a good size. The décor is very good and the beds extremely comfortable. It is very handy being only a few hundred yards from the waterfront and the restaurants in that area. The staff were very helpful and efficient on check-in and we received a choice of welcoming drinks delivered to our room. Even though we were in the middle of town we were not disturbed at all by noise. Each room has a balcony and ours looked over the town but immediately below was the back yard of a restaurant with bins etc. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel but would suggest trying to get a room with a sea view.

Room Tip: As mentioned before, a room with a sea view is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltburn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    140
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
84
266
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very friendly welcome at reception. Lovely appointed rooms, modern and clean. Right in the heart of tauranga but still quiet. A nice glass of wine each awaited us in our room when we arrived back from shopping....a nice touch. Will certainly stay here again and recommend it. Ask for a room with view over Harbour..Beautiful at night

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, but not overlooking back of shops as can be a bit noisy during day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a nice surprise on a business trip. A large bowl of crisp apples in reception, a room with balcony and opening window (I loathe sealed rooms). A sofa large enough to lie on. Microwave,jug, iron, fridge. Fluffy bathrobes. Capacious wardrobe. Large bathroom with double-sized shower. Heated towel rail. I like a firm bed, but the big softy I slept in was divine. Room service breakfast only. I headed out to a local cafe - The Med - for brekkie.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We enjoyed a night in the Hotel on Devonport very much. It's in the centre of Tauranga, close to the shops, restaurants and bars. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Free secure parking is provided. We received a complimentary drink upon arrival and newspaper in the morning - nice little gestures that are indicative of the hotel quality. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel is nice with large rooms and comfy beds. The staff provide a free welcome drink--wine, beer, soft drink, juice. The room service is good because they have a number of restaurants which they order from. It is located in the main area of town so everything is a close walk away. This was my second stay and I'll happily stay here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Very pleasant experience staying here. Room had a lovely, water-front view. Service was outstanding. Breakfast was quite nice. The staff were all so very polite and friendly. Was a nice touch to receive two glasses of wine as our welcome drink.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed here at least 10 times because it was a treat. This time it was below par. You would think the data base would show the desk staff that we have been regular guests.....obviously not?
Our room was not clean, with wipe marks visible on the bathroom walls and someone else's hair in the shower....yuck.
We'll find another place to stay from now on

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Property: Hotel on Devonport
Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing