We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our mini home away from home”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

For our 1st trip away from home with our 18 month old boy not quite overseas, but approx 3hr drive from home. We found the room was great and the service to match. We got a Cot provided by the hotel as we requested, which did make the room slightly more cozy but enough space still for our boy to run around in.

What sets this place apart from other places I have stayed in around the world is the small things like the complimentary drink on arrival and the bowl of apples at the reception for guests. ( The have some standard things like free wifi but limited see further down and a morning newpaper) The free secure parking was good too. Nice and clean and the furnishings are to a very good standard.

There were a few small things which bugged me a little so I will mention them more for people to be aware. The wifi is free but up to 250mb and then it is quite costly for additional mb. Inaddition in our case we weren't given a username or password it mentioned it should be in the checkin card with the keys. Oh well I wasn't there to surf the net apart from trying to check for weather forcasts for the region.

The other thing was, there is only one lift so at times.It could take some time waiting for the lift to come up or down. It was only 6 levels starting at 3 so for those who don't mind the stairs would be a good alternative.

There are plenty of resturants and cafes all within very walkable distances.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 542 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel really goes beyond what you would expect. Upon check in, they even have a complimentary drink delivered to the room!
Free wifi, free parking, large room & bathroom, perfect location too.
We enjoyed this hotel so much that we stayed on an extra night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becstar107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed in the Davenport for 2 days in Jan '14. Overall the hotel was good - clean, good service, convenient location however the beds were a bit hard.

Did not use any of the hotel's amenities (other than parking which was very convenient).

Room was spacious and had a deck.

Be aware that this hotel is on the strand which is not where the beaches are (it is about a 10 minute drive to the beach locations). But the strand does have quite a few restaurants and is a nice place to have dinner (and the best fish and chips I have ever had is at the other end of the strand from the Davenport at the working fishing docks).

Room Tip: Non water views look out at top of building A/C units (i.e. non-water views are not great).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in the harbour view wing. While the room was lovely and new, it was much smaller than the others there we have had before. The bathtub was huge! Breakfast was included with the package, but we were never advised there was a maximum spend (ie if you
Order the big breakfast there is an additional charge...), which was a little disappointing. The breakfast itself was average in quality. It is definitely overpriced for Tauranga, we pay this when we go to Auckland and get better facilities. Not sure we will return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is well placed right in the heart of the Tauranga down town area. Big wide footpaths with Many outdoor eating options.
The room was nice and clean, a good size not too small, with a 2 seater lounge on one side, and a nice desk where you could plug in to do some work.
The only slightly unusual aspect is that there is no kitchen, all food comes from nearby restaurants that have a charge back agreement with the hotel. I ordered a fish dish and by the time I received it it was Luke warm at best.
The bathroom is well appointed with a good shelf for your toiletries, and nice soaps etc.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank PJay2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very well located, right in the heart of downtown Tauranga, walking distance to shops and restaurants. Great service, modern rooms, comfortable beds. A great choice and would return if our travels take us back to Tauranga.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Globetrotters321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $122 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing