We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of the $250 a night special for a Harbourview suite and it was amazing. The room was large and beautifully appointed with some chairs and a table on the balcony as well to enjoy the spectacular views of Tauranga harbour. We were given a complimentary glass of wine and some nibbles on arrival. We also had in room dining from the Tauranga Club within the hotel and the food tasted fresh and portion sizes quite large. I only scored a 4 for service due to not having any hot water on our last morning and not being able to wait around for it to be fixed after being told it was fixed in the night. Not sure how long it lasted but it didnt impact on the experience overall and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    142
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
87
271
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Nz
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

First visit to this hotel but very happy with all aspects other than our room had view of car park and balcony very small and not much use.
Staff helpful and friendly. Short walk to waterfront and lots of restaurants.
Big room and wonderful shower (probably the best ever)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WinnieNelsonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Bright, clean and comfortable with friendly staff and in a fantastic location. The details are done well such as fresh milk in the fridge. Easy stroll to the waterfront, shopping and great restaurants.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TuiGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for my anniversary last weekend. The staff were fantastic, the food through room service exceptional (we rang with 5 minutes to go until the kitchen was unavailable and they had no problems with getting what we wanted), and the location meant it was simple to wander out for a dinner or a quiet drink or 10. The little extras with the free drink and bottle of sparkling and note from the staff wishing us a happy anniversary were wonderful touches that were greatly appreciated.

The only "fault" if I am to be balanced in my praise was that the executive room with the "deck with city or partial harbour views" was a little misleading. Should really say balcony with a view of the back end of the cafe below and once you looked past that a very partial harbour view. That being said the actual room itself was spacious, luxurious and extremely comfortable. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you are wanting the true balcony view of the sea experience I would say the Harbourview Room woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked this for family visit, had asked for a cot, which was ready in room along with nappy bucket (great idea). Check in was easy, friendly with happy positive staff. Liked the nice touches, welcome drink, apples in the foyer for the kids. Parking is easy, it is undercover, close to the city shops and restaurants. Clean, quiet, and a recommended stay for families. Oh, the spa bath was enjoyed by two squealing kids - sorry for the water everywhere....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spacious, clean, comfortable and remarkably quiet for its absolute central location.
Very friendly attentive staff and under cover parking all add up to a very pleasant
Stay just minutes from cafes, restaurants and the waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had a business trip to Tauranga, so stayed the night in the Hotel on Devonport. Very helpful staff and you're greeted with the offer of a glass of wine on arrival in your room. Nice touch! Modern spacious rooms, very tidy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,087 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Property: Hotel on Devonport
Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing