We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and modern in the centre of town”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chic and modern in the centre of town”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

A modern and clean hotel perfect for your stay in Tauranga. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and secure parking was provided for free. Only a short walk to a strip of fabulous restaurants and our glass of wine on arrival was a nice little touch!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenpotter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    141
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
87
270
19
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We highly recommend this hotel. Great location, clean, quiet,spacious rooms. Very friendly staff. We asked for a late checkout which we were accommodated with and when I mentioned that it was my partners birthday, we received a small bottle of wine. Very nice touch.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank staree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

WOW, from the check in staff to the room itself, you cannot fault this hotel. Located absolutely central in Tauranga within walking distance to mostly everything. My husband and I stayed here for our 22nd wedding anniversary. A real treat I might add. On arrival to our room to our delight a personal note of congratulations with a couple of champagne glasses and a little bottle of champers. This I did not expect and a beautiful start to our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The room was faultlessly clean and fresh and the staff who were willing to go that extra mile. Large very comfortable bed and a gorgeous spa bath with the condiments to go with it. Ok so no pool, bit of a downer but seriously only a 10 min drive to beautiful Mount Maunganui and our room had a lovely view of the water. Another surprise was the location of almost everything you could want. Walking distance to the waterfront, bars, restaurants and everything you could possibly need. I can't wait for our next visit....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank splatman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

the Hotel Devonport is a nice enough hotel but the place has no facilities. No Bar, No Restaurant, No Gym, No Pool and no views of the Harbour. When I got there I was going to park in the Hotel Guest VIP parking space on the street to check in only to find the Lift engineers station wagon parked there and I got very angry as I ended up getting the back door treatment having to enter the hotel through the basement. Not a Good start. I booked the suite but I was not that impressed with the room although nice enough had cheap shower fittings and the air conditioning did not work properly. In the end I think it an overpriced featureless hotel with very ordinary service.
I will not be staying there again. It's good money wasted. I think the rooms are only worth $130 a night not $200 - $250 a night. overpriced CRAP!!

Room Tip: don't bother with hotel on devonport, find a better hotel or just get a cheap motel room because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for new years it was lovely, by far one of the best hotels I've stayed at in New Zealand. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, we were treated to a complimentary drink and nibbles on arrival which we received in our room. The room was very modern and clean, good use of space with the wardrobe come fridge/mini bar. Complimentary bathrobes (always a nice touch) and a lovely little deck. We found the bed a bit odd as it had two single mattresses which made things a little uncomfortable - it just meant we had to sleep on our own sides of the bed. We ended up having to cut our trip short and the staff were happy to refund our money once they'd confirmed bookings with other guests.

The hotel is central to Tauranga city so restaurants are actually just outside the hotel doorsteps. We recommend Flying Burrito brothers but make sure you make a booking (especially Sundays).

Another great feature is the secure parking. I could't find a pool so I'm not sure if they have one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arihia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed at. Friendly staff on arrival set the scene for a great visit. Rooms are very modern and stylish, and the bed was really comfortable. Complimentary drink on arrival, plus a few extra personal touches really made this a great place to stay. Central to shops and restaurants was also a plus for me.
Would definitely like to come back on holiday !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupe106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel was fresh and modern. Friendly staff. Nice little touches - complimentary juice and newspaper,. Close to restaurants and the city centre. Very easy to get out and back to Mount Maunganui. We loved it

Room Tip: rooms on the west side face the parking lot - but we didn't care don't have a room for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFarndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,081 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Property: Hotel on Devonport
Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing