We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to its reviews”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a great short break here. The room was great, the service was great, the location was great, the breakfast was great. I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and this stands up with the best of them. I would go back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 8th floor and it was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9maaniyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Hotel on Devonport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 530 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We have used this hotel for seminars on two occasions, and stayed the night. The staff are excellent, and I would highly recommend this hotel. Rooms are modern, large, and well appointed. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are excellent cafes and restaurants all around here so an in-house one is not needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OptomAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

On arrival the staff were very helpful, quick sign in and then offered a complimentary drink, choice of orange juice, wine or beer. This was brought up to the room with a packet of nibbles so a nice welcome touch. Very comfortable bed and the decorating was pleasant. Mini bar with good choice of food and drinks. I was on the street side of the hotel and could not hear any road traffic at all.
Only negative point was the shower water was not a very good flow, but the spa bath made up for that.

Overall good value for money and a pleasant two day stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sooz115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for a night while in tauranga. A bit expensive but worth every cent. Great service n clean room. We had a superb view of the harbour... Will def return. If you want to experimence the views of tauranga at night.. This is the place! 0800 fabulous!!!! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As you enter the room you realise the place is upmarket. Pity about the free drink on arrival which was sweet red box wine type with major headache potential. The place was immaculately clean and the bed very comfortable. Situated in the heart of the city with a multitude of restaurants in close proximity. The spa bath was a reasonable size. I am over six foot so often I can't wait to get out whereas here I was able to relax a while.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a public servant and this hotel is one of our preferred providers. Everything is charged back to my employers....or so I thought! I had stayed at this hotel previously, and when I was asked for credit card details on that occasion, I advised that I don't have one (by personal choice), but was still given a room. Tonight, I was refused a room for not having a credit card - even though everything is charged back to my employer. I get that it may be company/hotel policy to ask for credit card details in case something goes missing, or something from the mini-bar needs replacing, etc....I get that. But what I don't get is why there is no consistency in the application of that policy? On the previous occasion I was allowed a room even though I never had a credit card, as everything was charged back; on this occasion I wasn't! Similar situation, same employer, different duty manager, different outcome. So I had a tired trip back to Hamilton, then will have to get up early tomorrow morning to drive back to Tauranga for an 8am meeting. And to top it off, the duty manager advised that she would be charging me for the room - the same room she wouldn't give me because I had no credit card. A very unfortunate experience!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
8  Thank Sahiyena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is at the upper end of the Tauranga hotel price range.
We moved to this hotel after our previous one smelly a bit funny.
Lovely expereince from check in to check out. Great off street parking. Wonderful front desk, very helpful. Free papers and glossy mags. If you book on line a bottle of complementary bubbles is thrown in. Only small snag was we used wi-fi on our tablet and the hotel delivered to our room a nifty wee device to use, we check with the staff member that this was free. Upon check we discovered we had been charged but once we explained there was no issue and the amount was deducted. Great service, spotlessly clean and lovely big bed. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#31 of 57 in Tauranga
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $124 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing