We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, quiet and comfortable”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

On arrival the staff were very helpful, quick sign in and then offered a complimentary drink, choice of orange juice, wine or beer. This was brought up to the room with a packet of nibbles so a nice welcome touch. Very comfortable bed and the decorating was pleasant. Mini bar with good choice of food and drinks. I was on the street side of the hotel and could not hear any road traffic at all.
Only negative point was the shower water was not a very good flow, but the spa bath made up for that.

Overall good value for money and a pleasant two day stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooz115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    142
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
87
271
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for a night while in tauranga. A bit expensive but worth every cent. Great service n clean room. We had a superb view of the harbour... Will def return. If you want to experimence the views of tauranga at night.. This is the place! 0800 fabulous!!!! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As you enter the room you realise the place is upmarket. Pity about the free drink on arrival which was sweet red box wine type with major headache potential. The place was immaculately clean and the bed very comfortable. Situated in the heart of the city with a multitude of restaurants in close proximity. The spa bath was a reasonable size. I am over six foot so often I can't wait to get out whereas here I was able to relax a while.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a public servant and this hotel is one of our preferred providers. Everything is charged back to my employers....or so I thought! I had stayed at this hotel previously, and when I was asked for credit card details on that occasion, I advised that I don't have one (by personal choice), but was still given a room. Tonight, I was refused a room for not having a credit card - even though everything is charged back to my employer. I get that it may be company/hotel policy to ask for credit card details in case something goes missing, or something from the mini-bar needs replacing, etc....I get that. But what I don't get is why there is no consistency in the application of that policy? On the previous occasion I was allowed a room even though I never had a credit card, as everything was charged back; on this occasion I wasn't! Similar situation, same employer, different duty manager, different outcome. So I had a tired trip back to Hamilton, then will have to get up early tomorrow morning to drive back to Tauranga for an 8am meeting. And to top it off, the duty manager advised that she would be charging me for the room - the same room she wouldn't give me because I had no credit card. A very unfortunate experience!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank Sahiyena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is at the upper end of the Tauranga hotel price range.
We moved to this hotel after our previous one smelly a bit funny.
Lovely expereince from check in to check out. Great off street parking. Wonderful front desk, very helpful. Free papers and glossy mags. If you book on line a bottle of complementary bubbles is thrown in. Only small snag was we used wi-fi on our tablet and the hotel delivered to our room a nifty wee device to use, we check with the staff member that this was free. Upon check we discovered we had been charged but once we explained there was no issue and the amount was deducted. Great service, spotlessly clean and lovely big bed. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the past four years, and have never had a bad experience. Excellent parking with easy and secure access. Helpful and friendly reception staff. Some rooms have better views than others, but all the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Doesn't appear to be any noise issues. Room service breakfasts are very good. Right in the heart of the City, this is a top option.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed three nights in June. Service was great and room very spacious. Loved the balcony and all facilities worked well. Would recommend

Room Tip: Different rooms have differrent outlooks so request which outlook you would prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachery R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,087 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Property: Hotel on Devonport
Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing