We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, faultless visit”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, faultless visit”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Check in was simple, friendly and we were even able to check in an hour early. We were also treated to welcome drinks, which was a lovely surprise and a nice touch! Room was gorgeous, very clean, spacious and felt very homely. The bed was very comfortable & huge! Loved the fact that the room not only had a heat pump/air conditioner but also had a HRV system installed! Gorgeous bath built for two, perfect for a romantic retreat, especially with the added spa function. Nothing was too much trouble for the the staff, from the maids to the hotel receptionists all did a great job. The hotel is also very handy for all facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    143
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
87
273
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is an excellent boutique hotel, in an excellent location. The room was clean, comfortable and had the wow factor. Staff very friendly and efficient and many bars and restaurants are close to hand. We had the full breakfast delivered promptly to our room in the morning. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth west australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Just back from a trip to NZ. We stayed in alot of places over the past few weeks (business) and this is was right up there great location to all the restraunts etc and having a secure underground free car park was fantastic. The rooms were well appointed clean and quiet. Little touch's like the bowl of apples for the guests....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Staff were friendly and helpful, couldn't fault their service. The room was very big and comfortable, gorgeous big bed. I had a relaxing shower and was sitting in my bath robe when our welcome drinks arrived, heaven after a day of travel! Perfect sleep quality, felt very refreshed and energised in the morning. Defintely recommend Hotel on Devonport :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a lovely new hotel right in the CBD of Tauranga. Staff are helpfull and friendly. Welcome drinks add a nice touch and the rooms very spacious with a great king bed. Not bothering with any other hotel next time we are in Tauruanga.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farva222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I picked this hotel based on the many reviews I had read on trip advisor and for the main part agree with most of the comments. Clean, reasonable sized rooms really comfortably fitted out with some really nice extra touches. However, the bed was a big disappointment. Our king size bed was in fact two singles pushed together. No ability to snuggle with my partner not without a big uncomfortable ridge in your back or side. If you are booking in for a romantic getaway you might want to double check on this detail. The only other issue we had was after waiting 45 mins for our welcome drink we gave up and went out to dinner. If this is part of the service offered it needs to also be timely. Otherwise a good stay - just marred by the inappropriate bed.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiniMooToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viness, Manager at Hotel on Devonport, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Hotel on Devonport. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay but were upset to hear of the problems you encountered with the bed.

Most hotels, including ours, use “split king” beds. These are versatile beds that enable us to change the bed configuration from a king to twin beds or vice versa depending on our guests requirements.

The split king beds are joined together at the base and mattress and an overlay is placed on the seam to ensure the join is not detectable by our guests. Unfortunately it appears this overlay did not work correctly and for that we are sincerely sorry. We believe providing a comfortable bed is a cornerstone of any hotel so please be assured we do take this very seriously and have double checked all overlays over the past few days to ensure they are setup correctly.

Please accept our apologies and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Everything about this hotel is pleasant and charming. From the moment we were welcomed by staff to the welcome drinks to the best places to eat to the directions to mount maunganui to the lovely room to the bed that was super comfy to the sad time we had to checkout. Hotel on Devonport is a perfect place to stay while in the Tauranga area and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IronmanFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,092 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
303 reviews
1.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Property: Hotel on Devonport
Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing