We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Spend a luxurious weekend away or just an overnight getaway with your partner. This hotel is tucked in the middle of Tauranga's CBD so you can walk everywhere and enjoy the city. The service is decadent and the rooms are modern and clean. We have spent many weekends at this hotel in the past and although it is only 2.5 hours from our home it feels like a holiday. Upon arrival you are treated with a complimentary beverage and snack, beautiful fresh robes in your room and options for Dinner and Breakfast. We usually go during off season in the Winter months when the weather is not so great on the outside and a bit of small city is just what you need as a pick me up. The telephone number is......... 0800 F A B U L O U S and it certainly is all of that.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    140
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
84
266
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here for two weeks on Business trip. Very comfortable, very clean, boutique style, everything a modern hotel should be. Take note all other hotels around - stay here and find out how it should be done
Thank you to all the staff and the management

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at the hotel last weekend, and it was just perfect. It was our wedding weekend so my bridesmaids and I stayed 'wedding eve' and my new husband and I stayed the following night. What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are so clean and lovely and the decor is modern and functional. They also decorated the room and made our stay very enjoyable. And the BEST thing about the place is the staff. Always ready to assist and they were just brilliant. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Checked in on 14th Sept 2011. Greeted with a warm smile from Ms Micaela. Gave us a high floor room with harbour view upon request. Room spotless. Close proximity to Harbourside Seafood Restaurant (on foot less than 5 mins). Excellent secured Parking facilities. Will not hesitate to stay there again if I visit NZD again.

Room Tip: Always ask for high floor harbour view in your reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisatan188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Great Location, friendly and helpful staff, rooms clean and equipped to a high standard, secure garage parking, The Tauranga Club on the 5th floor was very good, great views, and good food, which was not overpriced, a great place to stay for a long weekend or longer.Very hard to fault. Will certain return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nz
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Possibly the best small hotel I have ever stayed in in New Zealand.

Staff were unerringly polite and helpful, addressing me as 'sir', smiling and well presented.

The room was very well appointed with a large, comfortable bed, useful small kitchen and very nice bathroom. Good heating/aircon, comfy chairs and good TV.

Small niggles include limited Sky channels and lack of shower gel (soap is a bit 1970's) but other than that, it was quiet, comfortable and restful.

Breakfast is worth having too - not overly expensive (some NZ hotels charge as much as $30 for very mediocre breakfasts and this was around $16-$24) and delivered on time every time for the 3 days I was there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very nice stylish room with a big comfy bed. Nice and clean and would be difficult to fault. If anything the Trains are a little rowdy but not really a problem as there were any three or four in the night. Over all very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_fisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
299 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
293 reviews
1.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Property: Hotel on Devonport
Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing