We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchy and neat”
Review of Summit Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summit Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kitchy and neat”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Very 70's. Sparkly ceilings, pelmets, taps. So clean and nice. It was great. Nice and handy to everything we required. No air conditioning, just open the windows and get some good clean air. The lemon tree and the roses were a nice touch.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your very positive words. We really enjoy our grounds and I know Judith wishes she had more time to spend pottering in them. She has managed to get the vegetable tower planted again and scrambled eggs with spring onions will once more be on the breakfast menu. The Summit is quite central as you have noted and being only ten to fifteen minutes from anywhere in Tauranga and Mount Maunganui, people are able to get where they need to go very quickly. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tauranga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    59
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
128
63
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. My 2 young sons and I stayed in a studio room which was very clean, well sound-proofed and well presented. Lovely comfortable beds. Attention to detail was much appreciated - bottles of shampoo, pump soap and moisturiser instead of the usual inch size bars of soap etc and biscuits included with the tea-making facilities. We ate out both nights but the kitchen was well-equipped should we have chosen to eat in. The boys enjoyed the swimming pool, pool table and table tennis provided. Have plans to come back again next year. Thanks Mike for your hospitality and your friendly manner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223Roz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. The pool area is very relaxing and a pleasant place to while away a few hours. It is great to see you found the beds to be very comfortable - our topper pads are doing their job. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were in Tauranga for the weekend and needed two nights accomodation which was booked for us no idea what we were in for. What a great place very clean and had everything we needed to do our own meals. Judith and Mike Batty were the best hosts ever with guidance to get to places. Very happy to accomodate. Thanks for a lovely weekend! Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: No fitness center or restaurant. Book downstairs if you have heavy luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Many thanks for your very positive words.
As always, it is really satisfying seeing our guests enjoy their stay with us.
We are really grateful for the efforts our cleaning staff make in continuing to ensure all rooms are cleaned to a high standard and pleasant to be in. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Taps in kitchen and bathroom hard turning on/off - a surprise/disappointment to find in a "disabled" unit.
Expensive Internet access - Summit $20/1GB or $10/300MB - while Netcafe downtown $3/hr and/or Library downtown $4/hr.
Otherwise very good unit accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We were unaware there was a problem with the taps in your unit but this problem has subsequently been resolved.

Our guests usually find that the 300mb or two hours of free internet we offer meets their needs and as yours was a longer stay we did provide you with 600mb without charge. Again, I am sorry if you felt this was insufficient. Hopefully, on your next visit, we will be able to discuss this with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We found the rooms to be immaculate, beautifully-presented, and very well priced. The grounds were beautiful.

The sound-proofing between rooms must be top-notch, too, as we were staying as part of a large group, and various board games / socialising / infants did not disturb people in the rooms next door at all.

The hosts were approachable, cheerful, and did everything they could to simplify the process of splitting room costs between individual people in the group.

I slept in a studio room one night, and in a larger room (with more people) the next. Both nights I had a fabulous sleep.

I would absolutely stay here again, and am planning to return with my family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnelleBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay as part of a large group at the Summit Motor Lodge.
Our cleaning staff does a great job in the presentation and maintenance of our rooms and it is good to see that this is appreciated by our guests.

As always it is essential to respect the rights of others and we are appreciative of the fact that your evenings, although very enjoyable, were quiet and recognised the needs of others to have a good night's sleep.

It is always difficult sleeping in a bed that is not your own but the extra comfort that our 1000gm per sq.m topper pads brings means that our guests sleep very well and you are proof of that.

It was a pleasure having your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

From checking to our departure I really can't fault the Summit Motor Lodge. We had a two bedroom unit which was very clean and meet our needs perfectly. Well done to Mike and Judith for providing such a great motel for our family stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

First time in Tauranga for me , where I was attending a conference. I have nothing negative to say about this accommodation, and the service provided by Mike and Judith were well above the call of duty ,even though at times we intruded upon their personal lives. They have a true understanding of customer service. Well done guys , would definitely stay there again if ever up your way.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anne-marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,081 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
204 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Motor Lodge

Property: Summit Motor Lodge
Address: 213 Waihi Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Spa Hotel in Tauranga
#8 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet garden setting in central Tauranga, Summit Motor Lodge is just five minutes drive from the city - close enough to be convenient, far enough away to be relaxing. It's ideal accommodation for the corporate traveler, family holidays, weekend breaks or group tours. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summit Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Tauranga
Best Western Tauranga
Tauranga Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing