We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Option”
Review of Summit Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summit Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
RPV, CA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Family Option”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a great value for families. We have three teen age girls and stayed in Unit #1. Plenty of room for everyone - units well appointed and clean. The hosts were very nice and helped me with a couple of problems in a kind a freindly manner. They gave us a short carton of milk when we checked in for hot chocolate and our morning coffee - a very nice touch. I was able to do a much needed load of laundry and felt as though we got a little rest during a very active vacation. The hotel is centrally located to the major road ways, down town, the marina and many restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    57
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
126
62
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The unit was well equipped for a studio, with a microwave and hot plates for cooking. It was clean and comfortable and, though it was a Saturday night, there was little road noise. However, we weren't tempted to sit out on the deck which looked a little shabby. The host was helpful and friendly, and we thought it was good value for a city motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A little street noise in the morning, next time I would stay on other side of motel, away from street, hosts very friendly, rooms nice and clean, ice in freezer. Warm welcome and farewell. Spa or small pool out of action when I was there

Room Tip: Stay away from main road if you want a sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The place is AMAZING, perfect – too cheap for what it offers in fact! Thank you a nice lady who made me laugh when I checked in on Valentines Day while Judith and Mike were away and we continued talking about receiving red roses the next morning when you serviced my unit. Congratulations on such a happy, positive-thinking member of staff Mike and Judith!
Massive and very comfortable bed, kitchen and bathroom well equipped. Shower was the best I experienced in NZ motels. There is a nice, clean looking pool that I did not have time to use, but everyone I saw there sounded happy!
Mike’s and Judith’s approach to guests is incomparable to anywhere I stayed – Judith, your smile will stay with me forever! Mike – yours too! Seeing you in the mornings running around like 20 year old one (you are 29 I know!), making sure everything is perfect was a good start of a day and made me smile!
My unit (25) had breath-taking views of The Mount and the Tauranga harbour (see photos I took from the terrace)
I travelled to over 50 countries in the world (extensively in New Zealand and stayed in Tauranga in other motel before my stay just this week), but Summit just feels the greatest. I would not look anywhere else while you are in Tauranga– easily reached from everywhere, with a small shop and what looked like busy take-away a minute away.
Mike and Judith only started to manage the motel 3-4 years ago and they only had one “terrible” review here. Mike’s reply to the unsatisfied guest just shows what a nice, caring and understanding person he is. This one negative comment I read here is just an unfortunate result of stressful situation guests were experiencing, I cannot think of anything bad to say about the place…
Mike and Judith, you look, act and should be proud of the service you provide, well done and keep on good work! Coming back next year and will recommend you to all I know heading to Tauranga.
Missing it already, best from Auckland,on the way to London

Agata

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandrzejczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Summit Motor Lodge on January 23, 2013. The owners gave us excellent directions to several restaurant choices for dinner and were more than happy to give us any information regarding local stores and attractions. We needed a grocery store and were lucky enough to have one within walking distance.

The owners were great and our room was neat and clean all at a moderate price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goattonsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Title sums it all, we stayed in an executive studio with its own kitchen and bathroom. For the price we paid it was very well worth it! Location is great with only a 5 minute drive to the city, we got plenty of groceries and cooked our own meals. Mike was very warm and cheerful in welcoming us when we arrived. The service we received was excellent! I would absolutely come back and stay here again if i were to return to Tauranga. I would recommend this place to anyone who's looking for a place to stay in Tauranga.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicktiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this motel/hotel for a couple of nights. It's the height of summer in NZ and the weather in the Bay of Plenty had been absolutely stunning. If you have kids, this accomodation is perfect. There are 3 single beds and a queen bed in a 1 bedroom unit. Across the road is a gas station, dairy, and takeaway shop. It has a suburbia feeling but its close to cbd and all main beaches and eatery. The hosts are very accomodating. We had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyrichcouple_lol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.1 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Motor Lodge

Property: Summit Motor Lodge
Address: 213 Waihi Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Spa Hotel in Tauranga
#8 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet garden setting in central Tauranga, Summit Motor Lodge is just five minutes drive from the city - close enough to be convenient, far enough away to be relaxing. It's ideal accommodation for the corporate traveler, family holidays, weekend breaks or group tours. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Summit Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Tauranga
Best Western Tauranga
Tauranga Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing