We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent coffee at 4 Wharf Street in Taurnga”
Review of George Cafe

George Cafe
Ranked #42 of 50 Quick Bites in Tauranga
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 3, 2018

We actually went to 4 Wharf St in Taurnga (a few metres away from the Hairy McClary park). We had been dropped off by shuttle bus for cruise ship. I specifically asked a local where to find good coffee and I was given directions across the road to the main town area.
But, I spotted a quaint white and pink little boat shed and thought .... I wonder?
We weren't disappointed, the barista was welcoming friendly and efficient and best of all knew how to make coffee. There were tables outside under shade sip our coffees and watch the comings and goings along the waterside.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Service
Thank DossieHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 75 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile

Friend & i waited 25 mins for our food, when i asked they said order was lost & bought food straight away. Very expensive we thought, $46 for: coffee (excellent), juice (excellent), salad (good), veg pastry roll (bland), rice paper veg roll (i make way better ones at home). We wish them well, but won't return.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank DaisyVerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

Five of us dropped in for lunch, the salads and sweet treats all looked fantastic. Between us we had pea fritters with poached eggs, breakfast brioche, pad Thai salad and Ottolenghi salad. Everything was delicious and perfectly presented. Coffee great too and service friendly. Definitely want to come back for some of the sweet treats.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank emsp8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Nice little vibe to get a good caramel latte and a spinach and cheddar scone to start a sunday morning at Omanu Surf Club. Ask for Laura, a young american girl with Dreads. She'll sort ya out.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank BobbyK940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

Since I last came earlier in year, has been painted inside and out and cabinet etc moved around inside to change lay out.
All food inside cabinets but doors not always closed, but no flies this time.
Outside eating area tarted up too. Still quite plain, most of plant wall in better shape than before.
Menu has changed which is nice but less option for gluten/Paleo free. Didn't have the corn bread I had ordered and paid for, so was offered another option which was banana bread, nut butter, strawberries, this was lovely. But not what I was wanting which was gluten free bread with eggs. Coffee nice. Staff pleasant but barista spent 10 minutes while making coffees talking to a regular customer but it made it difficult for people to reach counter. Two people walked in and out as service slow and new layout not good use of space and confusing.
The cabinet food looked lovely and cafe was busy the whole time.
I had an ok experience but feel there are better cafes worth visiting than George.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Cafe also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to George Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing