We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gem”
Review of Comida - CLOSED

Comida
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went for weekend lunch with a group of us and thoroughly enjoyed the place. Great range of tapas and other dishes. The shared platters for 2 were superb with a good variety of dishes on each. We had the meat one which was very tasty, others had the vegetarian which was soo good and will be my pick for next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillipM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A truly international experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Comida offers traditional and modern Spanish Tapas and served by staff which meet the most exacting standards. Catching all of Tauranga's afternoon sun the courtyard is a gathering place for a relaxed afternoon/evening. Often accompanied by live music the food selection is outstanding and changes regularly to avoid monotony. Luigi, the owner, is a local personality with long experience in the restaurant business. With Comida he has hit the jackpot and I find it difficult to fault. At last a place for the mature diner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
“Great find!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had an absolutely fabulous evening at Comida, just off the Strand in Tauranga. A friendly, international staff made us feel at home. We enjoyed the tapas - every dish was delicious, most particularly the pepper oysters (the best!) and the aubergine. The atmosphere was wonderful and Luigi, the owner was very hospitable. I wish we had a restaurant like this at home!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great time out”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very different and interresing food, lovingly presented by charming, smiley staff. Finally an interesting place to go to in Tauranga!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinsi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great spot for Tauranga Tapas.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food here was really nice....on the night we went, there was live music. Good experience overall.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comida also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing