We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and interesting”
Review of Cruise Tauranga

Cruise Tauranga
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.30*
and up
Shore Excursion: Rotorua and Te Puia including Maori Cultural Show from Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cruise Tauranga offers day tours from the Port of Tauranga to Rotorua so you can absorb New Zealand’s rich culture, see the spectacular Geysers and mud pools, explore The Lord of the Rings movie set in Hobbiton, or travel by jet boat to a wildlife sanctuary. Wanting to customise your own adventure? Let us know, we can help tailor a tour for you or a group of any size. Cruise Tauranga offers award winning tours for cruise ship passengers visiting the Port of Tauranga. All of Cruise Tauranga's guides are passionate and are required to meet stringent standards ensuring that your shore excursion tour from the Port of Tauranga is not only safe but is exceptional. Cruise Tauranga’s fleet of vehicles are all of a high standard, air conditioned, safe and very comfortable. Our shore excursions to Rotorua and/or Hobbiton, New Zealand, are great fun, great value and a great way to see some of New Zealand’s most popular destinations. Travel with us and we will give you an exception tour and will guarantee* to get you back to the Port of Tauranga on time to board your ship.
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked our tour online with Simon who was very courteous and personal. Warren conducted the trip to Papamoa, Kiwi360, Okere Falls, Te Puia and a quick drive through Govt Gardens as it was raining. There were 9 of us in the tour and Warren was an excellent guide. He is very knowledgeable about all the places we visited and is obviously very passionate about his country - great to see. He gave us a real insight into NZ history and his knowledge of growing Kiwi fruit crops is second to none. Warren had us back to the cruise ship in plenty of time after a full day. Thank you Simon and Warren. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kennett
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a private tour off of Celebrity solstice. Excellent tour with Simon. Very informative and well planned.
Noticed that even though we emailed in credit card info , that it was not charged until well after the tour was over. Would highly recommend this tour

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Victoria
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great tailor-made tour.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

On New Year's Day Michelle met our family of 5 at the dock and took us around the area. As previously organised with Simon our main criteria was that we wished to see thermal activity and go to Hobbiton. Michelle did this and more adding in Kiwi360, guiding us around TePui, magnificent viewpoints, interesting information and bottles of water when we needed them. Michelle made sure we had plenty of time to see every thing we visited and was extremely friendly. Highly recommend this company to anyone planning to go to Tauranga or Rotorua.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ssrlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Excellent Guide and Tour”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Cruise Taronga/Learning Journeys – We arranged this tour with Simon. We traveled with Warren who was an excellent guide. We went to two thermal areas (our request) – Wai-o-tapu and Waimangu (our choice) - and Warren arranged the timing so that we could enjoy both thermal areas to the fullest. One person in our group was recuperating from pneumonia, and Warren watched after him and made sure that he could enjoy both thermal sites. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great day with Simon”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Cruise ship docked in Tauranga for one day in December. We had a private tour scheduled with CruiseTauranga. Simon entertained us for a full day. We went to Wai-o-Tapu where he hiked the trails with us, Rotatura, Kiwi farm etc. Excellent day with an excellent tour guide. Simon was entertaining and full of knowledge. Highly recommend this tour company.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruise Tauranga also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Cruise Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing