We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Day Tour to Rotorua”
Review of Cruise Tauranga

Cruise Tauranga
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.92*
and up
Shore Excursion: Rotorua and Te Puia including Maori Cultural Show from Tauranga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cruise Tauranga offers day tours from the Port of Tauranga to Rotorua so you can absorb New Zealand’s rich culture, see the spectacular Geysers and mud pools, explore The Lord of the Rings movie set in Hobbiton, or travel by jet boat to a wildlife sanctuary. Wanting to customise your own adventure? Let us know, we can help tailor a tour for you or a group of any size. Cruise Tauranga offers award winning tours for cruise ship passengers visiting the Port of Tauranga. All of Cruise Tauranga's guides are passionate and are required to meet stringent standards ensuring that your shore excursion tour from the Port of Tauranga is not only safe but is exceptional. Cruise Tauranga’s fleet of vehicles are all of a high standard, air conditioned, safe and very comfortable. Our shore excursions to Rotorua and/or Hobbiton, New Zealand, are great fun, great value and a great way to see some of New Zealand’s most popular destinations. Travel with us and we will give you an exception tour and will guarantee* to get you back to the Port of Tauranga on time to board your ship.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Impressive Day Tour to Rotorua”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

In March our cruise ship docked in Tauranga, where we were met by Simon for the Classic Rotorua Tour. We drove in a small van of 8 people through Tauranga and the countryside to a Kiwi Farm; followed by a nature walk to Okere Falls then on to Rotorua to Te Puia for amazing geothermal activity and a Maori Cultural show. Simon, being an ex-teacher, explained in depth all we were seeing and experiencing. He went into Rotorua itself for us to see the geothermal activity occurring among the houses and buildings. We ended our trip to Rotorua at Hamurana Spring to view the stunningly clear water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank napoli96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
marlow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked online before leaving the UK - booking experience was easy, efficient and friendly. Met at the quay from our cruise ship by Simon, who accompanied 8 of us in his minibus while his wife Michele drove another group of 9 in a second bus. Simon is a former school teacher and provided a highly informative and enthusiastic commentary throughout the day, taking us to view beautiful coastline, a kiwi fruit farm, forest walk down to waterfall/rapids, scenic drive to Rotorua for Maori cultural show, spouting geysers, mud pools, carving & weaving workshops etc and then on to see a unique thermal area in a public park - clear boiling pools and boiling mud pools right next to local homes!! Final visit to Hamurana Springs by the lakeside, with beautiful clear water and lots of local wildlife, before returning to the ship. Alongside the private tours, the company also arranges school tours (Learning Journeys Ltd) and we certainly had a very educational and highly enjoyable day. Great day and great value - highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first port of call and being new to cruising we were a little unsure of what happens when you disembark. We weren't even sure we wanted to go on an organised tour. As we walked out from the dock there was Simon waiting for his small group. Talk about easy. And from there we were in his hands!!! We had a fantastic day and would recommend this trip to all. Simon is full of knowledge and so easy to listen to. Thanks for a great day out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well organised and nice people”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arranged our CruiseTauranga.com day trip before we left home in Australia via their web site.
From the start they were great to deal with. Steve and I became instant photo buddies online and June and I were happy to go along with his recommendations of what to do and see in a day.
On arrival in Tauraga the small bus was on station and our driver turned out to be Phil.
Cant say enough about Phil. Obviously he was on a tight schedule to fit in the Kiwi fruit centre, the waterfall, Rotarua with cultural show. Geysers, mud pools, steam et al. Then lunch at a great spot on Lake Rotarua. More interesting stops on the way back to the Dawn Princess where we arrived nicely about 30mins before sailing.
We felt like we had seen it all but no rush. Just great
Thanks to all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Private Tour ! ! !”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We did their Classic Rotorua Tour Wai-O-Tapu and had a great time. We had 4 couples from cruise in our group and our first stop was the Lady Knox Geyser (this geyser erupts every morning at 10:15 with the help of a soap mixture). We then went to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland... an absolutely beautiful place. We have been fortunate to have visited Yellowstone and the Geyser fields in Iceland...and we found Wai-O-Tapu amazing.

We then visited Okere Falls and then went to Hamurana Springs Park... we really enjoyed this park with a beautiful clear spring with lots a wildlife and a long walk through the 'baby redwood forest' (only one hundred years old).

After Hamurana Springs, we visited Kiwi 360 and then headed back to the pier with a sightseeing drive around some of the beaches in the area. Our driver/guide was very knowledgable and informative. Working with Simon via email prior to the tour was easy to do and it help us to 'customize' our tour.

We would highly recommend Simon and Cruise Tauranga (Learning Journeys).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank suncityga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruise Tauranga also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Cruise Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing