We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in all respects”
Review of Tauranga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tauranga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tauranga Lodge
Ranked #5 of 28 Tauranga B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I booked a nights stay at Tauranga Lodge for my parents for their 40th Wedding Anniversary. Karla and John were fantastic to deal with from the very beginning. They made Mum and Dad's anniversary one to remember forever. My parents enjoyed their stay at Tauranga Lodge and are looking forward to staying again on their next visit to New Zealand. Every moment of their stay was perfect from the afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks, the dinner that was cooked by Karla and John, the room and the view!! Thank you Karla and John.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koconnor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words. John and I just love helping guest plan surprises and special occasions. It was such a pleasure to help you plan your mum and dads wedding anniversary…. we can understand why you are so proud of them. John and I got such a kick out of seeing their happy faces.
Can’t wait to spoiling you all next year for the next special occasion (:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

When you want to see the many places in Tauranga, the Mount and around the North Island this is the place to come back to as we did. Fishing off the coast, visiting Auckland, and Wellington the place to come back to for peace quiet and restful sleep this it it. John did a fantastic job with his local tour around his place made us feel like family. Their cooking skills are the best, with the occasional home baking a big treat.
If you are into walking, riding bicycle, or almost any other entertainment you can think of the Lodge is not far from finding what you want. And if you cannot just as John and Karla they will know where to find it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

It was great to have you back again for another adventure in New Zealand. We really enjoyed helping you plan your day trips while you were with us. The animals are missing your daily visit.
The next time you guys come back we will have to catch that fish………the one that got away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Karla and John were the perfect hosts with a very warm welcome,afternoon tea to start the one night stay for our 40th wedding anniversary.They both went out of their way to make it a special occasion, from pre dinner drinks too the most beautiful meal.To make it perfect for us dining table dress in red, the other reviews tell it all. Just perfect in every way. Thank You

Room Tip: Take your pick all have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

John and I felt so honoured to help make your 40th Wedding Anniversary so special. You are both such a lovely couple and deserve being spoiled. We had such fun planning the dinner and other surprises with your daughter.

Look forward to catching up next year for the next special celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are looking for complete perfection then you have found it. Every detail is taken care of from the moment you start your communication with Karla and John owners and managers of the beautiful Tauranga Lodge. I stayed for a weekend and had such an amazing time and enjoyed their hospitality so much that I also bought a gift voucher online once I returned home. The voucher has been given to some very special people who I needed to say a huge thank you to. I couldn't think of a better way to thank them than by giving the gift of true luxury, from the accommodation, the views to the food, it was stunning. Tauranga lodge and Karla and Johns hospitality is above and beyond. Nothing is left to chance. I will most certainly be sending more special people there and going back again myself!! You will have a very special time whether you are a family, couple or just need some time out on your own.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of an equally amazing standard. Beautiful views and beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to read your review.

It was such a pleasure to look after your special people; they were such a lovely couple. Planning this special package with you was great fun.

We are finding our gift vouchers are such a wonderful way of surprising someone with a unique gift of thanks or giving a well deserved treat.

Look forward to have you stay with us again when you come back to the Bay.

John and Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Karla and John in March 2013 for 4 days. They were so kind and understanding to us. They could see we were newbies to driving on the left and offered to take us around to see the sights. What a great day.
The Lodge is fantastic. It's modern, tasteful, and comfortable. They have every detail beautifully covered. The sheets and towels are the best. The bed is super cozy. Every room has a view of the sweeping landscape to the harbor and Mt Maunganui. It's quiet and so peaceful sitting on the terrace. One can tell right away John and Karla like people and have a gift for hospitality. They are kind to leave you to your self or welcome you into their lives. We loved you stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bullbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We felt so flatted that out of all the places in the north island you choose to stay with us in Tauranga.

It was a great pleasure to look after you both and leave you with such nice memories, and if we are ever in your neck of the woods we promise we will take up your invitation for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon - it turned out to be 2 of the best nights we had all trip. Everything from beautifully appointed rooms, a simply amazing view, farm animals and wonderful food. Most importantly however, Karla and John were the perfect hosts - the type of genuine service that is all too rare. Helpful holiday tips, a friendly drink on the terrace to serving us a home cooked meal one night which was simply beautiful!
This is a must stay - we will definitely be back!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank indy2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

John and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. A honeymoon as well as Valentines Day ……….. It doesn’t get more romantic than that!

Look forward to seeing you both sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We decided to stay in tauranga on our way to auckland airport for my parents'last night in nz. I called Karla and John and explained our situation. Karla assured they would make it a special experience. They excessed all expectations. They emailed us great directions. They welcomed us on their beautiful terrace with wine and beer and some delicious nibbles (cheese and dips). They invited us to unwind from the drive and relax while enjoying an amazing view of the mount looking over beautiful farm lands. In the meantime, they prepared a delicious diner. They use food they produce themselves. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Great for a romantic get away. Karla and John are wonderful hosts. They made us feel at ease right away and treated us like prince and princess. I couldn't recommend the Tauranga Lodge enough. My parents couldn't have left nz with a greater experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Merci beaucoup, Kia ora, Thank you

I hope your mama and pop-pa got home safely and are coping with the cold back in France. It was so wonderful to have you all here and share such a special time with you. To know that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much is just wonderful.

Tell Marce that we will put his wonderful painting in a very special place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
7.8 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,111 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
535 reviews
5.8 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
8.1 mi away
Seascape Villa B&B
Seascape Villa B&B
#3 of 28 in Tauranga
179 reviews
10.8 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tauranga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tauranga Lodge

Address: 10 Adrine Lane | RD3 Ohauiti, Tauranga 3173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tauranga
Price Range: $153 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tauranga Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% New Zealand owned and operated Bed and Breakfast.Whether you’re coming to New Zealand for a holiday, planning a romantic get away, or surprising someone with a special gift, Tauranga Lodge is the ideal venue. This secluded sanctuary is a luxury B & B establishment. You’ll enjoy superior facilities, first-class service, and sumptuous cuisine, in a private setting with breathtaking views over Tauranga City, Mt Maunganui and out to the Pacific Ocean. In house dinning is available year round. Bookings are essential.Rates are per room, per night, for a maximum of two and include a continental breakfast, plus pre-dinner drinks, and canapes.The lodge is not suitable for children under 14 years of age due to its design. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing