We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to expectations”
Review of Grange Road Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grange Road Cafe
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not quite up to expectations”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had heard a number of glowing reports/reviews for the Grange.
My wife and I went for a lunch on a bleak Saturday & were the only diners which didn't help with the atmosphere.
The menu read exceptionally well but the food didn't quite deliver. If the meals matched the expectations raised by the menu it would have been very good value but by not quite living up to our expectations we thought the meals were slightly over priced.
It was okay & we will give it another try. Maybe try an evening meal.
We didn't think it was very professional for 2 wait staff to stand in the restaurant warming themselves by the heater.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice coffee but not cheap”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Food and coffee overpriced for suburban Tauranga, but nice, quiet coffee can be enjoyed here. Staff pleasant and efficient.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank coyote538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAURANGA NZ
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have not found the food or service to be consistent.
Either very good or average. Hope you get the right day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MEANDMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“always fabulous”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I often call in for a meal on our way home from work. The meals and service are priced really well and ALWAYS consistantly fabulous.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuree1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Refreshingly good.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very pleasant experience. Food was delicious especially the entree tasting plate. We shared it between 4, but I could have eaten it all myself! Yummy flavours. Extremely friendly, helpful yet not intrusive service. A wonderful neighbourhood restaurant which was introduced to us and we have since shared with others. Been 4 times, now, and it is consistently above average and very good. Bright yet cosy atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grange Road Cafe also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing