We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room but great value!”
Review of Greerton Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tauranga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greerton Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 28 Tauranga B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yes, it was an average room, but at just $90 per night there is no room for complaint.
No refrigerator in the room is a minus, but, there is a seperate little lounge, just for guests, which has a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.
The buffet dinner was just fabulous with a great array of choices.
Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JellyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Greerton was my third choice to spend the night in Tauranga. The other places were already booked (Easter weekend). The inn is okay. I reserved a family room online. My voucher confirmed a room with 1 queen bed and at least 2 single beds. When we saw the room, it only contained 3 singled beds, which was unacceptable. So I went back to the front desk and complained. Apparently, that was not the family room I reserved, but they couldn't transfer us because it was already occupied. They offered an extra twin room for a "special" price of $80, which was again unacceptable. So as a compromise, they installed an extra bed.

There's no airconditioning--only a ceiling fan.

There's free wifi access but limited to 120 minutes per day.

The LCD TV was up to date and okay. The bathroom was clean and had a hot shower.

The inn sits on top of the local RSA association, and its members were singing karaoke that night, and I could hear 'em. It took me a while to get to sleep.

For the price, and if your first and second choice are full, Greerton Motor Inn is an okay alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest from their music lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilocanotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here to attend a 21st in Tauranga. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, suitable for a short one-night stay and the price was very reasonable. Would stay again for a short stay for just somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here on 28 & 29 December 2012.

Not much accomodation in Tauranga/ Mt Maunganui this price at this time of the year where you can book for 2 or less nights!

Stayed in a twin single room with my Mum. Rooms were very tidy (Mum is a Hotel Cleaner Supervisor, and checked the places most often missed, and they were spotless! Top marks for your cleaning staff!)

Beds were very comfortable.

Prior reviews mentioned no fridge in rooms, so I brought my own portable car fridge which I had running in the room non stop over the 2 days :-)

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and didn't mind waiting up for us as we were late arrivals (After 10pm)

Will stay here again if I'm up that way.

Room Tip: Twin Single beds are bigger than standard singles, and are very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

let me be brief about this. We stayed for 2 nights, (25th and 26th of Dec). we booked our rooms last minute and this inn was about the only option that we had.

the good: clean establishment, looks much better than the price tag, very (and I mean very) friendly and helpful staff

the bad: location is not ideal (away from most of attractions), needs refurbishment VERY SOON

the ugly: some misleading advertisement!!!! on their website they mention SKYTV and Internet. what they don't mention is that they only have 3 channels of SKYTV !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and the internet is $5 per hour !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I mean are you kidding me!!!!!!!!!!

anyway I gave them a 'very good' rating, just because of their brilliant staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Best deal we could find in Tauranga - especially over Labour Day weekend. Located a little out of the main tourist area in the suburb of Greerton - no issue really if you have a car. Entrance was a little difficult to spot from the road. No-one at the check-in desk when I arrived - lady from behind the bar in RSA came to assist. Think this was due to short staff on the public holiday. Comfortable room - good value meals at RSA. No fridge in room was the only issue.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brett153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at the Greerton motor Inn while my husband had an op at Grace Hospital. Fantastic value!
Quiet, clean, friendly and $90. Hard to beat this value. Rained the whole time I was there....The fire
In reception is inviting.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank BramGisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
1.4 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
224 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
180 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,110 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greerton Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greerton Motor Inn

Address: 1237 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tauranga
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a relaxing and affordable Tauranga accommodation then look no further than here at the Greerton Motor Inn. Starting from just $90 per night, Greerton Motor Inn offers comfortable and secure rooms with a selection of king singles, twin, queen or double, with family rooms also available. In each of the accommodation wings guests will find a large lounging area where they can relax with others and use the full range of tea and coffee facilities available. Every room features an en suite bathroom plus all rooms have 32" flat screen TV's (with Sky TV), Telephone facilities and FREE Wi-fi. Also located on site is the Oak Tree Restaurant that offers a great menu at great prices. Off street parking area is also suitable for large truck and trailer units ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing