We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good only if you can sleep through anything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbourside City Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good only if you can sleep through anything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The only real complaint I had about this place was that the walls are so thin you can hear everything thats going on and thats really not great when some drunk person decides to stand in the hallway talking as loud as possible at 2am.

Other than that it was clean had a good vibe and staff were friendly and helpful. Location is perfect and is right by the water and by the main strip with easy access to the bars and restaurants. Kitchen was well equipped with a nice big balcony looking over the water. Bed was okay but not that comfortable and the lighting in the bathroom was terrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxJazzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarboursideBP, Manager at Harbourside City Backpackers, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
thanks very much for your comments we do appreciate it happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    38
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
5
33
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My extended stay at harbourside was something I'll never forget. Its smack right in the middle of The Strand...pubs, cafes, music on every corner. They even help organize work/transport to the kiwi pack house.

Beautiful huge balcony overlooking the harbour, friendly staff, big clean kitchen & rooms.

I made some amazing friends there that I still keep in contact with. Cheers Sarah xx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyscaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarboursideBP, Manager at Harbourside City Backpackers, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
thanks so much for your comment and glad you enjoyed your self hope to see you again happy travel

Tracy and her Harbourside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Positives: staff (Tracy, Allie) are very nice and helpful. Place is clean, Pip does a great job of thoroughly cleaning the kitchen she is sweet too. Location is ideal in heart of Tauranga, near the i-centre whence buses leave frequently for Mount Maunganui. Nice view from large well-equipped kitchen balcony over water, sunscapes. No hassles, no fuss. Good restaurants nearby including the Turkish pizza place on Devonport, recommended.

Negatives: Do not stay in the room from hell 220, some type of machine racket goes on all night, every night, impossible to get any sleep. The bathroom did not have a lightbulb (gents) so can't see anything. The guests are a lively boozy crowd using their laptops as hip-hop radios and patio is very noisy till about 3-4AM so don't come here if you can't handle that. Rooms need updating. Fire escape is used by guests to traipse up and down, looks like it's rotting away and a tragedy waiting to happen.
In general, about backpackers in Tauranga, it appears there is no one in charge managing overall, resold recently and feeling of owners are in Northern Queenstown all year round.

Room Tip: I put "excellent" for fitness centre even though there isn't one at the backpackers, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is great for exploring Tauranga. It is in the middle of the main strip of bars and restaurants and around the corner from Devonport road and all the shops. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Predominantly a working hostel, they gave advice and help with regards to getting work. We stayed a week but left as the hostel was unable to find us work.

Good cleaning team keep the hostel clean daily. Showers and bathrooms clean and bedrooms clean with no problems.

Great dining and lounge area and balcony with a lovely view. Can be noisy at the weekends due to location but we did not hear much.

Free wifi in the hostel, EOL, the same as down the strand. 25mb per device per day.

I would stay here again if in Tauranga. The hostel was a pleasant surprise after reading negative reviews before we went.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbronDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Although our stay was short, we enjoyed our stay here. It is right amongst all of Tauranga bars and restaurants, it also has a nice deck on top which overlooks a harbour. It was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. This is not intended to be a party hostel but Tauranga and Mt Maunganui can be popular place for young people from around the region and Auckland, and the hostel did contain a group of noisy, drunk youngsters but the helpful staff delt with them pretty quickly.

Room Tip: We had a double ensuite on the second floor and apart from a few noisy people the whole level was mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PostmanPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Let's start with the bad side:
The dorm room in which I stayed was very small and had only a small window.
Furthermore the walls were very thin so you heard a lot of talking from the neighbours, even if everybody in your room wanted to sleep.

The good things about Harbourside:
The bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned very thoroughly,
the dining area is very nice and the view from the balcony is just great!
The Location is also a plus, as it's directly in the center of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herrderringe93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hostel is located by the harbour (as the name suggests) and walking distance to many bars and restaurants. Great location if you do not have a car, but not as pleasant with as the hostel does not have any parking lots. You will need to park on the street and it is not free (except on weekends). Lots of people staying there are long term stayers either working around there or looking for work. TV room is small with 1 sofa (able to sit 2-3 people). Music is always being blasted in the kitchen and balcony (great view overlooking the harbour) and tonnes of people sitting around, talking loudly and drinking beer/wine during dinner time. The loud talking and shouting continues till after 12 midnight along the corridor which you can hear every word due to the thin partitions.

We booked a double room (shared bathroom) and got upgraded to a double room with ensuite as the double room (shared bathroom) was overbooked. That's great, but the room is seriously small. One of the smallest room we have been to, and yet one of the most expensive we have paid.

Overheard a girl complaining about her dorm mate coming into the room in the middle of the night, turned on the lights, talked loudly and even brought a guy back into the dormitory. This place seems quite like a party hostel and will not recommend to people who like peace and quiet or families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
2.6 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpack...
#8 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside City Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside City Backpackers

Property: Harbourside City Backpackers
Address: 105 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourside City Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our backpackers has a huge balcony with STUNNING VIEWS of the harbour, fantastic communal facilities, internet cafe, Free Wifi, free bikes, herbs & spices, DVD's, fishing rods & we book all local activities. We accommodate up to 72 people in a variety of different rooms If you are after a CLEAN, FRIENDLY & RELAXED stay, at Harbourside Backpackers one night will turn into days. . . there is plenty to see and do - swimming with Dolpins, white-water rafting, scenic walks, surfing, relaxing on beautiful white sandy beaches and so much more! The bus station and information centre are a one-minute walk away... everything else you might need is just a short walk - we are the CENTER of town. Tauranga is a GREAT place to base yourself for a while and find work if you need your travel funds topped up! We offer weekly rates for those wanting to stay and work in the area, and can assist you in finding a job. We even have a van to help with transport. We look forward to sharing our beautiful region with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourside City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing