We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Med Cafe

The Med Cafe
Ranked #1 of 373 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Best Coffee in Tauranga. Fantastic breakfast and lunch 7 days from 7am
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Yummy Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Loved the service, speed that the food came out and most of all the quality of the food was fantastic

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jono71_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    116
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tried and true.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I hadn't been to the MED for a couple of months and was pleasantly surprised to see quite a major refurbishment inside and a new look with the outdoor furniture. It's a real change and it looks fantastic. But what hasn't changed is the quality of the food,service and coffee. It was like coming home. The place was pumping and it still has that great vibe that a lot of other cafes simply can't match. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAHW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast with free wi fi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having pre researched a good place for breakfast we were happy we did. The food was wholesome and healthy with a varied selection. The place was full of locals which says it all. The service was friendly and prompt and the husband enjoyed the free wi fi access using his Ipad to catch up on the emails.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank misspoppy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anneBr0wn, Owner at The Med Cafe, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I'm very pleased that your visit to The Med was great. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“one of the best in Tauranga.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Coffee is very good, food excellent, the enviroment is enjoyable. Well worth going to for an afternoon or morning coffee, or lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brians101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great coffee, food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Really enjoyed my visit to The Med cafe. Staff promptly takes your order while you wait on the queue to speed up service. They offer a very nice range of cafe gourmet food which you can see in the glass display photo attached which looked amazing and seems to change daily. They also have a menu which includes all day breakfast. I had an absolutely delicious mushrooms and bacon on toast for breakfast and coffee was excellent. Went back there the following weekend and had the same great service and quality of food so I believe they are also consistent. They offer a nice collection of new magazines and daily newspaper which I enjoyed to flick through while I enjoyed my breakfast and coffee. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Med Cafe also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Med Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing