We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty average”

Imbibe Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 382 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, European, New Zealand, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Imbibe Restaurant & Bar, located close to Bayfair Shopping Mall and just a few minutes stroll to the beach, is one of the Bay of Plenty's top dining venues, offering an extensive menu and Stone Grill dining. Pop in on Thursdays and Fridays after work and enjoy specials on Tap Beers and house wines, and dance to live music at the weekends. Keep warm by the wire in the winter months or sit outside in the summer, and take advantage of the specials on Tuesdays 2 for 1 Stone Grill, and Wednesday nights Kids Dine free when Mum or Dad orders a Main meal. Other specials also offered regularly. This large stylish restaurant serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner, or snacks anytime, and there's always a lot of entertainment going on so check out their website or facebook page to see what's on offer. Imbibe is regarded as one of the Bay of Plenty's premium Function venues, with 3 stylish facilities, dedicated staff, and great deals like free venue hireage. Their flexibility to meet your individual needs means they can host a broad range of functions making Imbibe the perfect venue for your next celebration or conference. One of the private function rooms is the Jager Lounge upstairs which will hold 120 people standing or 48 seated - with two separate areas joining as one at the bar, with an enclosed side and an open side, offering the best of both worlds for any event where fun and sophistication combine. Set menus available or discuss your catering requirements with our staff. The Bach is a completely separate function facility, offering a private, laid-back, beach lifestyle, function area, and there you have your own bar, sound system, television etc, making it perfect for 21st parties to 60th birthday parties, stag/hen nights, or any celebrations. The Bach can be transformed with your own creative Theme and will hold 30 - 60 people. Discuss your catering requirements with our staff.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“pretty average”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

while giving the impression of a good choice on the menu with restaurant prices that meal that I got was pretty ordinary. The fish was cooked to crispy on a very ordinary risotto. While filling not worth returning for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    15
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible food, horrible service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my partner decided to have some lunch and had a very disappointing experience!!! My seafood pasta was full of oil, too oily!! My partner had a stone grill that i tried as well and it was pretty horrible - it seemed that the quality of meet was quite poor...we had stone grill meals before so we could compare. No one explained us what to do, other places we ve been to usually give us a little instruction of what to do, what is what..Waitress sort of rushed us to order and checked how our meals were in a rush and ran away...turned to be a very expensive lunch - not worth at all

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Reasonable selection of dishes and service was very friendly. I had the chicken supreme which was nice and tasty. My wife had the Eye fillet medium rare. It was a bit on the medium side but still very tender. Sticky date pudding was yum. Found the squat stools a bit uncomfortable too soft and no backs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillipM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi on tour
Level Contributor
182 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Imbibed”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time visit in quite a few years, went with group of close friends . We all had two for one vouchers which was handy as both food & beverage prices certainly on the high side. The atmosphere as always here is busy, loud and generally ideal for the younger set. The place to me also doesn't quite define itself as either a pub or a restaurant. The food however is above average and the service from staff is also very attentative. A fairly good night was had by all - so overall experience was good and would return again hopefully in not to distant future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccdzyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Noisy place.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had booked the upstairs room for a private function. Great atmosphere. Snack food ok.
Friday night very busy, both upstairs and down. When finished upstairs we tried to move down for a meal, but no room, so we left and went elsewhere. A shame as they missed out on a group of 4 for dinner. Very noisy. Full of young people, so if your over 40 don't bother after 9pm. The staff walk around and give out goodie bags to the young girls and ignore anyone older.
It really makes one feel good, NOT. Plenty of parking, but watch when you leave as cop cars seem to hang around nearby. Make sure you have a sober driver.
Probably wouldn't return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank male4sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imbibe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Imbibe Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing