We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Inn
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Convenient, comfortable clean place to stop over. Friendly manager was happy to leave the unit open for our midnight arrival. We just parked at our front door, put our bags inside and hit the sack. All easily sorted in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank oscorzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Many thanks for taking time to post your review. We do aim to please our guests and provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience. According to your comments, we did seem to tick the boxes for you, especially service, so are a wee bit surprised you rated us only 3/5. We will continue to put our guests first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    30
    16
    11
See reviews for
54
58
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Unit was clean and comfortable and the Manager friendly. Spa bath was not working, the internet was not good, there were tree branches scraping on the roof making for a noisy night. Management said they didn't know the spa bath was broken and that the tree branches would be looked at. Hopefully all will be fixed for the next occupants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sirda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your constructive review, and I really appreciated you talking to me on check-out. That enabled me to trim the tree that afternoon, and ask our plumber to look at the spa-bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We thought this motel was ideal for our three night stayand would recommend it without hesitation.The owner was really friendly and helpful.The only drawack is that you have to drive into town (5-10 mins) to find the bars and restaurants

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We really appreciate you taking time to post a review. With the greater Tauranga area now being so extensive with the constant growth of this very popular city, we say we may not be close to much, but are in the middle of everything - 24hr service station and bakery across the road, 2 takeaways and also superettes 2 blocks away, 2 supermarkets in different directions and the citizens club 4 minutes away, downtown 6 minutes, nearest ocean beach 10 minutes, airport 12 minutes, 'The Mount' 15 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very friendly host, loved the free-wifi provided and the rooms were all pleasant. Not a 5-star review because the sound of water pipes being used from kitchen and bathroom from the neighboring room were way too loud! When you sleep you could tell when other people are using their water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and very pleased you found our motel provided, over-all, a very pleasant experience. The 'sound' issue is of concern to us, and we will check with guests staying in that unit, if they have the same problem. Hopefully it was just a temporary 'air lock', otherwise we will ask our plumber to investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Ambassador Motor Inn during the busy weekend of the Tauranga Half Iron Man. We were very happy with both our unit - two bedrooms with a kitchenette and the heated pool - which the kids loved! The staff were friendly and i felt that this place was very good value for money. It was exactly what we wanted as a family - good price, clean and a pool!! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed onto our staff. We do strive to please everyone, because our reputation is at stake. The vast majority of our guests have an enjoyable experience apparently, and the few of those who make the effort to write a review, help to balance the very few who have issues, and are keen to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and booked a spa bath unit, but the bathroom was so disgusting that we only used the shower. On returning to the room on day 2 we found that we had been given clean towels and the kitchen rubbish had been removed - but nothing else had been done in the room - bed unmade, nothing cleaned or vacuumed. This place is advertised as a serviced motel with 4 stars and even in the book in the room said serviced daily. When I approached the office to ask why, it was because "we couldn't get our staff to work long enough today, we should have told you on check-in". All he was interested in on check-in was getting the payment done, and wasn't that approachable when I asked for the wi-fi password to check my emails. Wouldn't return to this property at the price that was paid per night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
So sorry you were upset. I was going to say, all [but obviously not] our guests were extremely understanding when we said we could not get a full roster of staff over this very popular time, and to give our few staff that were willing to work some quality time with their own families/friends, would our guests object to a restricted 'service' of changing the wet/dirty towelling, replacing condiments/ toilet paper etc, and changing rubbish bin liners. In fact most guests were superb with washing their own dishes - if they had any to do, pulling up/making their own beds, and some even placed their rubbish/recycling in the bins. That gave our staff that little extra time to make sure an excellent job was done when guests checked-out and so those units were spik-n-span for the new arrivals, many of whom arrived well before the usual check-in time of 2pm.
Altogether, a very frantic period with many stresses, but luckily we pulled through [relatively] successfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tauranga hotels

Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is not the most modern place to stay but it's very clean and the crew is a charm: great humour and lots of knowledge about the region. The couple running this place is very helpful - and their tips are valuable if you have only short time stay. Another plus: it's perfectly situated with a few minutes walk to all the nice restaurants but quiet because situated on a side street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kohlmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments. It is always nice to hear what guests thought of us and our motel, especially from the small percentage [who do write a review] of the vast majority of guests who enjoyed their stay. We do have a very healthy 'repeat business'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.8 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.1 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.0 mi away
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
#13 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cobblestone Court Motel
Cobblestone Court Motel
#15 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Academy
Comfort Inn Academy
#10 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Inn

Property: Ambassador Motor Inn
Address: 9 Fifteenth Avenue, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing