We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Inn
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were a little disappointed with this place. My friends who woke early to get away before 7.a.m found the milk for their coffee was all curdled and had to have black coffee as the office was not open. The bed was comfortable but the units really need a make over to justify the rate charged. We stay in a lot of Motels during the summer months and this one although clean was only average.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Punter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Firstly, our apologies re the milk. We are very embarrassed about that-we receive the little sealed bottles [full milk] or cartons [skim milk] three times a week from our supplier who usually gives us milk with as long an expiry date as possible, but we did have two other comments that came straight to us in November. Our supplier is now even more diligent. Your other comments were interesting-you said the bed was comfortable and scored us 3/5; and also said the unit was clean yet scored us 3/5 again. We do pride ourselves in the standard of our guests' beds and also the cleanliness of our units. Finally, unfortunately you must have stayed in one of the 3 units still to be refurbished. Since taking over the business in May 2012, we have done an extensive refurbishment. We are nearly there, and are sorry you struck one still to be done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

After travelling 5 hours straight. We were looking forward to freshening up at the Ambassador. First time in Tauranga. Our first impression of the hotelier was rude. He made an uncalled for comment on our car as soon as we arrived. Asking him for anything was met with sarcastic replies and the so called 'free wi-fi' should be actually advertised as 'limited wi-fi'. I'm glad we only stayed one night and could not wait to leave 6am. . The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Very disappointed to find out through Tripadvisor you had an unhappy stay. We do not know who you are as nothing was conveyed to us on your departure, which would have allowed us to at least discuss why you were unhappy. We do pride ourselves on providing a comfortable and enjoyable experience to all our guests, and the relatively recent reviews would tend to bear that out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed one night at this establishment for a two day training course held on the premises. The accommodation was very clean, comfortable bed, well appointed and quiet despite being on a main road. the conference facility was very good, The catering was excellent. I require a gluten free diet and this was catered for correctly unlike other places I have stayed. Thank you.
the welcome at the hotel was warm and efficient. No problems at all staying here. very central location near hospital! town and easy access to facilities and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyJenkins1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Very pleased we met your expectations. We do strive to provide a clean, safe and friendly experience for our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent location, professional service, well-priced unit and family-friendly! We are a young family of four, we wanted to maximise our spend on our young boys' shopping and food, but would not want to compromise comfort during our short holiday. Thanks to the Ambassador, our stay in Tauranga was one of our family's best vacations. I would recommend the place to those who likes value for money and who needs a room that can count on the kids.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We do appreciate your comments, and will pass onto our cleaning staff your high cleanliness mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The first stop for our North Island tour, we found the Ambassador Motel in Tauranga. The bed was nice and soft, the room adequate with wi-fi and the hotelier very helpful. Well priced too. We only stayed one night but found the motel to be very adequate for what we wanted.

Room Tip: The main entrance takes you onto a very busy road so ask for a room away from the road. Also, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Fantastic super friendly, Roger was extremely accommodating to our needs for our large group of family members. Good parking, and I liked being able to use the service-lane to exit from the busy Fifteenth Ave. It can get a bit of road noise, plus plumbing noise from nearby units. Room 5 is a one-bedroom big sized unit, which we ulilized well. Room 13 studio unit with a spa bath was more than adequate, and lots of warm sunshine streaming in in the mornings. We felt all the other rooms were adequate for what we were paying - clean and confortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. It would be a pleasure to have you back again. We appreciate your valuable feedback. Regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. The unit is very dated, doesn't look like anything has been upgraded in many years. The tv reception was fuzzy and the DVD player didn't work. There was mould around the inside of the shower. Not enough couches for the number of people the unit sleeps. Had the unit been cheaper then these things don't matter but when paying close to $200 you expect a higher standard. The staff were nice and the location was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#25 of 57 in Tauranga
331 reviews
2 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#17 of 57 in Tauranga
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fountain Court Motel
Fountain Court Motel
#38 of 57 in Tauranga
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
18th Avenue Thermal Motel
18th Avenue Thermal Motel
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
44 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blue Haven Motel
Blue Haven Motel
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Inn

Address: 9 Fifteenth Avenue, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $89 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing