We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night, clean and tidy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Inn
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We only spent one night at the Ambassador Inn, but our room was a great size, it was clean and tidy and had all the amenities we needed. It's also in a great location. (Close to town and to the beach). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahAndTato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 176 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

great room, fantastic bed, great shower, really enjoyed our time here. Room was serviced on our second day of stay which we didn't expect so that was fantastic. Extra towels supplied without having to request it. One suggestion is letting guests know there is free wi fi available upon request.

Room Tip: would recommend a room further away from the main road - as it was summer we had the windows open so...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of a large group so rooms were (I assume) based on our groups requests from past experience then we got the room that were left.
So we had one of the 2 rooms upstairs facing the road.
The room was pristine clean and modern, with many sky channels-something you dont get these days in hotel/motels.
They had many more complimentary beverage choices in the kitchenette than I've ever seen before- including biscuits.
Before I start on the bad stuff I would also acknowledge that because of the rain we had a huge event right outside the motel managers living area and they didnt complain at all.

But there is a big negative side- they advertise they provide a van service for groups but the managers made absolutely no effort to provide the van for us.I understand that they were flat out trying to clean rooms in prep for all of us but trying to get thier attention was hard, and the Van didnt move the whole weekend.

Our room upstairs was terrible..No ceiling fan,and of course no aircon, so if you open the windows you might as well be sleeping in a tent on a highway.
We heard every toilet flush and shower and sink use from next door.
We got very little sleep.
The owner/manager is definitely not in it to make friends and influence people from my experience......I found him to be taciturn and disengaged.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at the Motor Inn for 1 night. Loved it! The room was clean, comfortable, and large. The bathroom was also very nice and large. Free Wi-Fi was included. Good location to go touring around. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

After arriving, the owner decided to upgrade our room to a spa included, which we didn't request.
For this we were charged an extra $25 which was disappointing.
The following day we had our room serviced - fine - but there was no complimentary milk for day 2. After requesting some milk we were given milk with spots in it. Yuk!
Not only that, the television was very grainy, hundreds of spots!!!!!!. We couldn't view Channels 1, 2 or 3. He explained that it was due to atmospheric conditions.
Never have we stayed in a motel with such slack service.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank willywonkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This motor inn offers some of the cheapest accommodation in Tauranga. We paid NZ$100 for a studio unit which included a small kitchenette. the room was a reasonable size for two people. Free local calls from your room as well as free wifi in your room that was sufficient enough to check emails, and Sky TV offered a few extra channels. The accommodation was clean and relief managers were friendly and helpful. The motor inn was set back off the road and we did not hear any road traffic. I would no hesitate in recommending this accommodation and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My family and I spent a weekend in Tauranga early September, I cannot fault the service or rooms. Our second day there I found out that the people were only minding the motel not the owners - and I have to say they ran it like it was their own. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The beds were comfortable and room was clean. What more can you ask for? I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
3.0 mi away
Bethlehem Motor Inn and Conference Venue
1.8 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#31 of 57 in Tauranga
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Academy
Comfort Inn Academy
#14 of 57 in Tauranga
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
18th Avenue Thermal Motel
18th Avenue Thermal Motel
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Inn

Address: 9 Fifteenth Avenue, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $88 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ambassador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing