We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
88
143
79
43
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
88
143
79
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath room service room was spacious free wifi worldly oldy upgrades accommodation comfort foyer cbd waterfront strand heaps
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 380 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Incredibly outdated and uncomfortable. Our bed was two singles pushed together with the hard ribbing around the outside of each mattress so there was a horrible divider between us. Hotel was closed for a long time saying renovations were underway. Clearly not all rooms were seen to as the one we had (near the pool) was like something from Eastern Europe in the 80's. Friendly girls on the front desk but definitely don't stay here if you want comfort or modern furnishings.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank localdiner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmHotelMgr, Manager at Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Thank you for your stay and feedback.
As per our previous posts we had to pause our renovations over Summer.
We will start again from next week and we look forward to welcoming you again after the renovations.
Warm regards
NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Not too sure where to start! Check in was fine until they told me there was a 2% surcharge to use a credit card. I mean really? This is 2019, everyone uses a credit card. Do what all hotels do, and suck up the 2% into your actual cost quoted. (After traveling extensively, this is the first time I’ve been asked for a 2% surcharge). The hotel was dark and smelt musty. Walked into our room and there were stains all over the carpet (very old but still there). Dated decor. Bathroom was good (light and bright) but no extractor fam so couldn’t open bathroom door to let all the steam out. Beds were clean and comfortable. No traffic noise.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ChrissyFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmHotelMgr, Manager at Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Thank you for your stay and feedback.
We are sorry if you found the cc surcharge inconvenient. Most hotels do and sometimes up to 3%.
We try to be very transparent and inform our guests on websites and upon check-in to avoid surprise and frustration.
We will be replacing every carpet starting next week.
We hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely
NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights while visiting friends in Tauranga. Never really stayed in Tauranga over night but glad I did. Very close to the appearingly recently redeveloped waterfront with great restaurants ‘Cobb & Co’ (My Favourite). Never knew Tauranga was that interesting! Very impressed.

Will definitely stay again. Highly Recommended!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank joshuaj380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmHotelMgr, Manager at Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Thank you so much for your stay and great feedback.
We are so glad you enjoyed the Hotel and Tauranga as a destination.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again soon!
NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

A short 10 minute walk from the I-site (depending on how fast you walk) this hotel is not far from a beautiful stroll along the waterfront. There are many restaurants close by, or you can eat in the hotel restaurant where the staff are very professional and friendly. The meals are not big, but are delicious.
The hotel has been done up, and my room was very comfortable with all necessary amenities.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Lizzysholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmHotelMgr, Manager at Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting such lovely review.
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Tauranga and at Hotel Armitage.
We sincerely hope to see you again and show you the following stages of our re-development.
Sincerely.
NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our spacious room that included a large bathroom and very comfortable beds. The room looked more updated than the outside of the building. The balcony meant we could get cool, fresh air on warm nights. It's a relatively short walk to the shops. Plenty of parking available in the hotel grounds. Very friendly staff on reception.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank wendya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmHotelMgr, General Manager at Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your stay and positive feedback.
We are so glad you enjoyed your room and our customer service.
The team will be very happy to read your comments.
We are undergoing renovations and our focus currently is on the hotel interior.
The renovations will start again after Easter.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again soon in the future.
Warm regards
NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews