We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Restaurant experience”
Review of Hotel Armitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Armitage
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stopped in for a night at Hotel Armitage during our honeymoon having read positive reviews. When booking our room we decided to take advantage of the 'rep special' for dinner and breakfast vouchers.

Our dining experience was awful, for the following reasons:
1. I was told the soup of the day was a creamy mushroom, when it arrived it was cold tomato soup.
2. Waitress was slow, had no knowledge of the menu or options.
3. Waitress did not return to the table to give us the opportunity to note the mistake or make a complaint.
4. My main course of chicken and bacon fettucini was bland and the chicken was burnt black.
5. Another dinner received both their starter and main before our food had been received, despite us placing our order 20 minutes before he had arrived in the restaurant.
6. The 'lamb steak' was actually a lamb stew.
7. Not given an opportunity to order a drink, we were only given water on the table.
8. On trying to address the issues we were met with awkward laughter and no apology.

Furthermore, we have since discovered that a continental breakfast is currently included in the price we paid for our room as a part of the 'winter special' advertised on the hotel website. This is not something we were made aware of when booking at reception and so have paid excessively for awful food, terrible service in the restaurant and a black mark against Tauranga on our Honeymoon trip through North Island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback on your dining experience, and have taken the opportunity to review some of our restaurant practices. We apologise once again for not being able to give you a positive experience, but hope that our efforts to improve your experience on the second night went some way to make up for it. We hope that you enjoy your time continuing to travel around New Zealand, and we wish you all the best for your new married life.

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 311 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having stayed here on numerous occasions the experience gets better every time I visit. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Staff are friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.i will continue coming here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmarie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a Friday night after work dragged on too long to safely drive back over the Kaimais. I just turned up in the clothes i was wearing at about 11pm and got a room instantly. No hassle no surcharge just great positive feeling from front desk. At that time of night you are generally limited to the car, backpackers or swanky hotels you can't afford but I found this on the inernet with rooms priced to beat the local motels so thought i would give it a go.
The hotel looks 1980s from the outside but inside, with its carpets, wooden panelling and leather furniture, it feels like a more historic building.
Rooms are large and comfortable and warm enough not to need extra blankets or a polar fleece like some places (you know who you are)
Only complaint was the heat pump was slightly noisy - solved by using the 'off' button.
Complimentary toothbrush/toothpaste would have been ideal as i don't generally carry any to work. They might have had some for sale at the front desk, but after a shower, sleeping was all i could manage.
I didn't try or look for any facilities or services or food as i checked out early.
Overall a great city centre hotel, close enough to walk, but far enough to avoid the noise. Excellent value too - so if you want somewhere decent without the 5* pricing, give the Armitage a go, I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback! We are so pleased that you discovered us and found our hotel to be all that you had hoped for. We are open 24 hours a day, so perfect for those that arrive a bit later, or leave a bit earlier, our staff are always on hand to help. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town.

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

For this, our second stay, We requested a quiet room with spa bath...We got exactly that

We found the staff friendly and helpful
The hotel is only a short walk to town, which is great
Exactly the break we needed

All very good

thank you very much for good stay

Room Tip: I like quiet and central
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We aim to please all our customers and hope to provide them with all that they ask. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back once again,

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The three day Reunion was a great success largely as a result of the outstanding cooperation of Management and Staff.The accommodation was great the rooms large ,the beds comfortable and the bathrooms sparkling; the meals first class,the buffet ,morning/afternoonteas, lunches and dinner well prepared and presented and more than sufficient. The Conference facilities met all our requirements.The cost of the weekend was more than satisfactory and. was excellent value for money. I strongly recommend the Armitage to anyone looking for a Conference Centre in Tauranga .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you and your guests had such a good time during your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again for your next reunion!

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Attended a three day reunion at this establishment. The 'Hands on' approach by the manager meant an enjoyable time was had by all. Staff most obliging and helpful when I needed to have the audio- visual equipment set up in either the dining room or the Harbour View Conference room for photographic displays.
The hotel is an older one with lovely atmosphere. Large comfortable rooms and sofas everywhere along the passageways. Didn't have time for a spa bath, though it looked inviting!
The formal dinner was excellent, with each guest being able to pre-order their meal, meaning all got served without delay.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethGoldsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. A great time was had by all, including our staff, at your reunion. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tauranga soon!

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We held our function at the Armitage and our out of town guests all stayed there. Without exception they all remarked on the first class rooms with wonderful facilities. Staff couldn't have been more helpful or considerate. Meals were of a high standard and great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you and your guests had such a good time on this happy occasion! We look forward to welcoming you again soon for future functions.

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.1 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
2.3 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armitage

Address: 9 Willow Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $70 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled conveniently in the heart of Tauranga's CBD, your ideal inner city accommodation. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is located only a 3-minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the main center in Tauranga. You'll find Tauranga's vibrant nightlife and great shopping at your doorstep and of course Mount Maunganui with its renown white sandy beaches is only a short leisurely drive away. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a charming 3.5 star Qualmark rated, 24 hour service hotel offering the discerning traveller comfortable and spacious hotel accommodation. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking* to make your stay feel like a home away from home. The Poolside Restaurant situated on the ground floor offers an international fare of tastes and flavours using the Bay of Plenty's abundant 'fruit bowl" as some of its core ingredients. Other facilities in the hotel include the Clipper Lounge Bar with a grand piano and a pool table for socialising. The swimming pool and outdoor area is a fantastic place for relaxation. Swim a few laps in the large pool, soak in the spa pool and find a nice lounger to recline on with a cool drink. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a great venue for your next Tauranga conference or event with five function rooms to choose from each with different points of difference. Our professional and friendly conference team are happy to assist you with making your event a success. Send us an enquiry about our competitive rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Armitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armitage Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing