We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Armitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Armitage
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“family retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We having been coming here for years because of its central location it's swimming pool and friendly staff. We have seen a great improvement over the years as it is given the tender loving care that it needed. We will certainly return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    106
    60
    35
    18
See reviews for
68
96
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for a week and had such a lovely time. We arrived late on the 1st night and were worried about finding somewhere at short notice but the young man in reception told us we could have the last room and would wait for us to arrive. Once we got there, we loved the vintage look of the hotel and was happy with our room. the next morning a young girl was on the desk and she told us that we could move to a bigger room with a spa if we like and was extremely polite and helpful. During our stay, all the staff asked about our day, if there was anything we needed and was so friendly. The pool was great which we took advantage of most days and the little food we had there was nicely cooked. I would def stay here again and reccomend to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frodsham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel was handy for our requirements just on the edge of town and away from the hustle and bustle of this lively town. The staff were very friendly, but I just felt that the hotel needed some tlc all over in general the place looks tired. Lovely the wood panelling etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzyFrodsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed 1 night, rooms were nice, dated but nice. The lounge with pool table and sky tv was good the leather chairs were very comfortable. Pool area was very nice to sit in in the evening with a quiet drink. The team were helpful but the young girl on check-in could have more knowledge of the local area. Now for the bad bit, we opted for the chefs (????) deal $35 for dinner and breakfast. Not a good idea !!!!!!! the water/wine glasses were dirty (maybe more old and worn) the dinner was the worst meal i have ever eaten, i know not to expect much for $35 but it should be at least edible. If the person who cooked this can call themselves a chef then i must be one of the countries top chef's with my home cooked meals. Because of the dinner i would not return to this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzirish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and for highlighting areas we can improve on. We have recently appointed a new head chef and hope that we are able to welcome you again and provide a more satisfactory dining experience.

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Hotel is in a great location and only a short walk to the waterfront. The vintage feel of the Hotel was amazing. I don't think I have ever walked into a Hotel and heard a piano being played in the foyer, although it was being played by a Hotel Guest, it didn't matter it just added to the character.

The rooms were so spacious and although dated they were clean and set out in such a way that there was no way it felt like six people were all sleeping in the same room.

The service was great from reception was also amazing, they were very accomodating. If you are looking for a clean comfortable place to stay I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Armitage,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you found our larger style apartments so comfortable, and that our staff made you feel so welcome. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, maybe you can give us a song on the piano!

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just enjoyed 3 nights at the Armitage and enjoyed the old fashioned decor, the oldies music at breakfast and the clean, pleasant room and also the cheery staff. This hotel is near things inTauranga including the historic Elms House just one road away where we enjoyed a walk around the lovely grounds before breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrapped000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you were able to take in some of Tauranga's historic sites. We look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit town.

Best wishes,

The Hotel Armitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here in November 2012. Had a shopper docket with a good discount so thought we would try it. Well were we pleasantly surprised. Room was lovely so spacious and the furniture was old world classic. Food was excellent We had breakfast and dinner. So handy to the shopping centre as well. Would stay there again if I ever get back to Tauranga

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dora554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you managed to take advantage of one of our current offers, and were happy with our facilities. We would love to welcome you back again, the next time you are over this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour City Motor Inn
Harbour City Motor Inn
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armitage

Property: Hotel Armitage
Address: 9 Willow Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled conveniently in the heart of Tauranga's CBD, your ideal inner city accommodation. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is located only a 3-minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the main center in Tauranga. You'll find Tauranga's vibrant nightlife and great shopping at your doorstep and of course Mount Maunganui with its renown white sandy beaches is only a short leisurely drive away. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a charming 3.5 star Qualmark rated, 24 hour service hotel offering the discerning traveller comfortable and spacious hotel accommodation. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking* to make your stay feel like a home away from home. The Poolside Restaurant situated on the ground floor offers an international fare of tastes and flavours using the Bay of Plenty's abundant 'fruit bowl" as some of its core ingredients. Other facilities in the hotel include the Clipper Lounge Bar with a grand piano and a pool table for socialising. The swimming pool and outdoor area is a fantastic place for relaxation. Swim a few laps in the large pool, soak in the spa pool and find a nice lounger to recline on with a cool drink. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a great venue for your next Tauranga conference or event with five function rooms to choose from each with different points of difference. Our professional and friendly conference team are happy to assist you with making your event a success. Send us an enquiry about our competitive rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Armitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armitage Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing