We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed here...”

The Barrio Brothers Tauranga
Ranked #6 of 402 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've dined here a few times, and it's always hit the spot. Attentive service, the food is fresh, imaginative and not at all pretentious.

The cheese dip starter is great, but you'll need a party of four to do it justice! Burritos, chimichangas, tacos: they're all a triumph.

A word of warning, you'll probably need to book as it's deservedly popular. Also, the sound bounces off the walls when it's busy, so come early if you want to chat...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank South37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback, see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 292 of 317 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have deliberately avoided "Mexican" food living on the Gold Coast Queensland because the food here is so bad. The food at this place is terrific and great value by Australian standards

I would go back tomorrow 5 stars

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank homer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thanks for the great feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed everything maybe you'll see a Flying Burrito Brothers over there one day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It's been a great place to get a bunch of friends together for a meal and drinks. It's relatively inexpensive and the food is really nice. It also has a great lively atmosphere that's conducive to a gathering.

Thank brutasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for the feedback!! We love having big groups in they are always a lot of fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Flying Burritos Tauranga always serve delicious, large portions of food but what lewers me in is the amazing iced magaritas they serve - $5 last time I went! My friend had her birthday here not long ago and as a novelty they had her stand on her head and down a shot of tequila! That was well worth watching!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MzTaylor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

I have to admit the Margaritas are pretty tasty and with the great weather we have been having it a pretty tempting combo and yea its always great watching someone else get hung upside down and take a shot....Mexicans know how to party haha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

No idea how this place organises staff in the dining room - but it worked like a clockwork. During our dinner we were served and attended by four waiters and every time service was spot on. The restaurant offers a relaxed and cosy atmosphere and we enjoyed our stay. Yes food - the Chicken Fajitas (recommendation of waitress #3) were the best I had in a while.

Thank GlobalGerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi There,
Thanks for coming in, I'm glad you enjoyed the fajitas they are a popular item thats for sure!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrio Brothers Tauranga also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to The Barrio Brothers Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing