We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable and easy walking to Tauranga waterfront restaurants”
Review of City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Suites
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for just one night as wanted to have a holiday in Mount, but prices were too high and availability wasn't there. But pleased we got to stay here in Tauranga. Room was basic (no balcony or spa bath) but everything was working and would have used the pool if weather had been warmer! Mattress was a bit 'doughy' thats my only complaint.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktandnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that we were unable to provide a spa bath or balcony on this occasion. Unfortunately they do get booked up pretty quickly at that time of year. Please do not hesitate to contact us to request this on your next visit to Tauranga, and we will do our utmost to provide these for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 313 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

First time staying here ,an excellent hotel, clean and tidy.
Manager lady was exceptionally friendly and helpful.My friend and I decided to live in temporary, she also helped us find a large room, there are two king size beds!thanks too much!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take great pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I travel frequently and since discovering the City Suites hotel I have no need to look for anything else.
This establishment ticks all the boxes.....handy to the city, quiet but central, secure in all aspects, wonderfully comfortable, clean, a nice pool on a hot day,.......and the icing on the cake is Trish at the desk, always helpful and smiling. An excellent hotel that I thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: I always go for balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We take great pleasure in ensuring your stay is as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to City Suites soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

First time staying here and it will be my first choice for my next trip to the Bay. Awesome, friendly service from Trish (whose customer service was exceptional) and she gave me lots of help with my questions.
Breakfast was 1st class ( poached eggs are not the easiest for a room service breakfast, but they were hot and perfectly cooked, both days)
The room was spacious, clean and had everything I needed with free
wi-fi, a mini bar, microwave and cook stop. Bathroom was roomy and had all the little extras that make life easy. Parking was easy in the garage and the location central for everything I needed.



Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank EAS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We take great pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your stay and also our yummy breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I would stay here again, very quiet with no street noise. Lovely tidy modern rooms with all the bits and pieces you need, air con and a ceiling fan as well. Reception/manager lady was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Good secure parking, though limited spaces I think, not that I had a issue with that, walking distance to eating places in CBD. Room was a very competitive price as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to City Suites soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

An excellent hotel, clean and tidy and immaculately presented. Top class service led by Trish who makes you feel welcome and looked after every time. Good size rooms, close to city centre and in a quite relaxing environment. Certainly recommend for both holiday and business travellers alike.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It gives us great pleasure in making your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My family and I stayed for one night and we wished we could have stayed another night. The room was spacious and very quiet and even had a courtyard to sit out in. Safe secure underground parking. Good value for money. Would stay here again. The service was excellent and the manager was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 768JoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take great pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious rooms and we are sorry that you could not stay for longer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#24 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites

Address: 32 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Puriri Park Boutique Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $79 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Suites is Tauranga's newest accommodation option, right in the heart of the city. With only a 5 minute walk to the CBD, or a 10 minute drive to the beaches of Mount Maunganui, City Suites has all you could want, whether you are traveling for business or fancy a weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing