We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Tauranga”
Review of City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Suites
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Not my 1st choice in Tauranga as i would stay at the Hotel on Devonport, however from the TA reviews, i thought i would give it a go.

Studio was HUGE and lead out to a lovely courtyard. Comfy bed, Sky TV (with a movie channel), parking. Everything was perfect.
I really rate this hotel as couple who ran it were lovely and very helpful.

If you stay in Tauranga the two places mentioned provide the best service and great accommodation.

Room Tip: Studio is a great room and the other rooms are probably twice as big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotrice24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were pleased that your stay with us met all of your needs and expectations. The secure underground parking is definitely a bonus, and it was good to see that you took advantage of our outdoor area. It is lovely in this weather. We hope to see you again when you return to Tauranga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 311 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

10/10 for everything. This is the best place to stay in taurnaga! Would recommend to anyone and everyone. Love the rooms and the location. So central to everything. Great service they go the extra mile. I really appreciated your help? Thank you for everything.

Room Tip: 3 was a great with the patio and the doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure helping you and we are so pleased that everything went well. We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked for one night to allow my husband to attend the Skin Clinic before 8 am the next day. We did not know it we would need another night so the owners kindly said they would hold the room for us - we didn't need it - but so appreciated the care, concern and flexibility they offered.
Our 1 bedroom suite was great - we especially like the balconey we could sit on and eat our evening meal. Yes we would stay again. Wonderlly central for Tauranga.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillcresthairdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We hope your husband is fit and well. We are pleased to see that you took advantage of our balcony and enjoyed sitting out in the evening sun. We look forward to seeing you again here at City Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

So in my last review I ended by saying I would come back again and again.... well, I have kept my word. I have stayed at this hotel a total of 38 nights over 36 weeks this year so far.

Seeing so much of one hotel, you would expect to start seeing the cracks in service, facilities etc. The types of things you wouldn't necessarily notice on a single visit.
I am very happy to report that this is most definitely not the case. In fact the exact opposite is true.
I have seen the best in Service I have ever received from a hotel anywhere in the world (and I have travelled to 455 cities in 16 countries). I have seen the introduction of a mini bar at prices you couldn't get from the local pub. I have enjoyed countless full breakfasts masterfully prepared by Peter.

In a nutshell.... if you want a comfortable room, superb service and an overall good stay at a hotel that is close to just about everything, then this is the place to stay!

(And my wife says she is very impressed too :o) )

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor to towards the rear of the hotel. Room 22 is a good choice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Wow, thank you for all of your kind words. We are pleased that after all this time you are still happy, and still find it pleasant to stay with us. We hope that you never find those cracks for as long as you stay with us! It is lovely having you here, and we welcome you and your wife back every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hands down one of the best hotels in the area, I would recommend to anyone visiting Tauranga to spend the night in the luxuary accommodation that only the City Suites can provide. Combined with remarkable customer service you need look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayln S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We are very pleased that you were impressed with your stay, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was lovely having you to stay, and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I recently stayed at City Suites and was blown away by how incredibly friendly and helpful the owners were. I travel a lot for work and have stayed at a lot of hotels and motels, but I have never come across people as friendly and happy to help make my stay really enjoyable. I wanted to go for a run, but mentioned I didn't want to go too far as my back was a bit sore, so they lent me a mountain bike to go for a ride instead! They also went out of their way to help me get an urgent document printed and scanned. I recommend the City Suites very highly if you are looking for a great place to staty in Tauranga.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you so much for all your kind words. We were only too pleased to make your stay a memorable one. We are happy that you enjoyed your bike rides and hope your back is better. We look forward to seeing you again if you are back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Always a great place to stay for the room appointment, location close to the city and bridge to the Mt. Also a conference facility with easy access and all the normal meeting requirements.
However on this occasion the service and efficiency of the meet, greet and check left something to be desired. Very unusually we also got asked to close the bill by 10am when we are here all day for a meeting. Just needs a little bit more polish for the customer service side of the facility.

Room Tip: room 10 ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotarm, Manager at City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give your comments on your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, particularly our conference room. We are sorry that we slipped up on the service aspect of your stay. We take pride in making all our guests feel welcome, and try to ensure that their stay is an enjoyable and comfortable one. We appreciate your feedback and will try to improve the way we handle our conference guests' acommodation payments. Thank you once again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to City Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#22 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites

Address: 32 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Puriri Park Boutique Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $92 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Suites is Tauranga's newest accommodation option, right in the heart of the city. With only a 5 minute walk to the CBD, or a 10 minute drive to the beaches of Mount Maunganui, City Suites has all you could want, whether you are traveling for business or fancy a weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing