We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Family Restaurant”
Review of Cobb & Co Tauranga

Cobb & Co Tauranga
Ranked #123 of 390 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome back to New Zealand's original Restaurant and Saloon! Visit Cobb & Co for a friendly environment and warm charm that is uniquely kiwi. Cobb & Co is the best place for families, offering a fantastic kids area packed with mountains of toys, PlayStations, and a large fish tank. We also have a special menu for our valued seniors. Cobb & Co prides itself on having the best steak around! Our beef is 100% Angus Pure, beginning in the beautiful green landscapes of New Zealand and finishing its journey on your plate, topped off with one of our homemade steak sauces! Here, at Cobb & Co, there is something for everyone, offering a huge menu range, including gluten-free and vegetarian options. Enjoy our wine list of high quality regional wines and renowned national brands, a classic pint of beer, or a colourful traffic light. Welcome home to Cobb!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Family Restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent food and great service what more does a family want for a meal out. Restaurant was very busy but you couldn't fault anything, great staff and great food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    62
    30
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have tried so many restaurants around Tauranga and Ihave to say I keep going back to the Cobb and Co I have never ever been dissapointed in the quality of their food. Only one thing Id like to say no vegetarian options really besides pasta and it is an area that needs to be looked at, because when it comes to group bookings there are always vegetarians.Otherwise Great dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny-Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere great food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent family enviroment great food. we enjoyed the whole experience timing between courses was perfect

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shortwalk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly vibe, great location, poor cut of meat”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The entree and my meal was lovely - was keen to give a very good review.. The Coconut chicken was a highlight. However, My partner ordered the special of the night = Big Boy - a 500g steak, this was very disappointing as it was clearly a really poor cut of meat - only really made up for fatty bits. Although my experience was very good the rating is average as when you consider what great produce is on offer in NZ the beef should have been much better. We should have seen that the restaurant was only trying to move poor quality meat, rather than provide an excellent deal with this special.
Service was friendly but after we asked for the drinks menu the waiter never returned to take our drinks order. Oh well, at least money was saved here on our part

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StackIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue G, Owner at Cobb & Co Tauranga, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
VERY sorry to hear the steak was not up to par: we buy top of the range Angus Pure precut steaks from an Auckland specialist steak company and we pay a considerable premium for it. All our steaks are Angus Pure Beef (as depicted by the logo on the menu) and buying them pre-cut is another way of ensuring top quality (since then there is no using up of sub-standard ends, or bargain meat). Occasionally a steak will get through the suppliers quality checks and the chefs will pull it aside to return it. So if a substandard steak made it on to your plate, I am sincerely sorry. Please could you tell me what date you dined with us and where you sat, so I can follow up with the meat supplier and the waiter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The selection of meals on the menu was vast. The cocktail selection was impressive and the desserts where exquisite ! The staff were all friendly - a really nice place to relax and eat good food !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mckenzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobb & Co Tauranga also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing