We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value & Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rain Bar

Rain Bar
Ranked #53 of 380 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kiwi on tour
Level Contributor
182 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Value & Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have frequented this restaurant/Tavern bar many a time and hyave never come away disappointed. The ambience and service are of a good quality restaurant but with an upmarket tavern bar. The crowd is mixed with both young and old , and even families . A great place for a sunday lunch - the sun beams in there in the afternoons , has a patio area for dining or just drinking. The food is also of a very high standard - the ribs are always superb and a huge plateful ( more than enough for 2 ) - the food is always fresh and the selection is excellent with something for everyone - even vegetarians - would happily recommend this , in fact have convinced friends to meet their in a couple weeks for a night out, bring on the Rain

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccdzyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    53
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omokoroa NZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For work or leisure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This bar and restaurant has been a favourite of ours to have our working lunch meetings at, but this was the 1st time I went there in the evening.The prices are not what you expect from a typical bar menu but then this isn't a typical bar food either. Expect restaurant quality food here with a large menu with everything from light bites to full out beautiful meals. The food is always freshly made and yummy- with good size servings (so even the men felt full). For dinner I had pork belly with kumara and it was lovely - melt in the mouth with crispy crackling. My work colleges had a range of dishes including ceaser salad -crisp and very tasty, fish and chips - crisp light batter and sirloin steak cooked to order and to perfection. Oh and if you want an extra egg or 2 just ask and it will be done. A yummy range of desserts did tempt some of us - chocolate lime baked cheese cake was rich and decant. The staff are friendly and the service excellent. Not a bad atmosphere either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kangab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Four males on a sporting trip went here to have a meal and watch the rugby. Statrters were great and the ribs looked like a main until I saw a table nearby get a main of ribs and man that was huge!!. The other starters were great value as well. We all enjoyed our meals and the waitress who was from the sound of things from Ireland was excellent and made us feel welcome. All the starters came in good time and the mains were timed well as well. It was a Saturday night so the place was fairly busy so the service times were good and gave us plenty of time to talk and watch the rugby. Bar had a great selection of everything you need. The four of us all had starters and a main and at least three drinks and it was arounf $55-$60 each and we were happy with that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 53MDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A nice place to go for a cocktail or two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I used to live not too far away from Rain Bar therefore I was a frequent visitor. It's a spacious sized bar with a restaurant to the side and well placed tables and chairs. The bar has a massive selection of drinks to chose from and there are always plenty of staff on so you never have to wait an age to get served - they've got a yummy selection of cocktails as well! Rain Bar holds a quiz night here (every Tuesday I think it is!) which my old flat used to do together and it's a lot of fun; well hosted and well thought through! When I return to NZ, I'll definitely make a stop at Rain Bar.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzTaylor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Expensive meals for type of bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went here for our wedding anniversary.
This was a Monday night so was not busy.
So we expected good service from both staff that was on, and this is exactly what we got.
Not a long wait between entree and main meal.
Very acceptable. Noisy road if your sitting outside with car fumes, but I suppose you can't do much about that. Quite expensive for the meals, especially for a bar type place.
These meals priced as if it is a upper class restaurant, which it is not.
I would say it would be a very busy and very noisy place on a busy night.
They do have a restaurant area, but this was closed off, a shame as it could have been a much nicer night if we could have eaten in there.
Overall a nice night, but would pick somewhere else next time for a meal.
Would be ok for a after dinner drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank male4sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rain Bar also viewed

Papamoa, Bay of Plenty Region
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty Region
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Rain Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing