We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning”

Canoe & Kayak Bay of Plenty
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayak adventures, including Glow Worm kayaking in the dark, that will get you off the beaten track and give you a taste of the real NZ. Personal, guided kayak tours that ensure you discover some unforgettable places. Glow Worm Kayaking & Bush Walk Tour - an adventure kayaking and walking in the dark to see the glow worms, hear the wildlife and see the southern stars. Get up close and personal to these incredible illuminated creatures. This is a truly magical and special place in NZ. Simply a must do if you're in the area. Round the Mount Kayak Tour - a sealife safari exploring the rocky shores of the iconic Mauao extinct volcano with it's Maori tales and history. Paddle to the reserve islands just off shore to view the seals and spot a blue penguin. Adventure, nature and culture all rolled in to one trip. Lake McLaren Kayak & Waterfall Tour - a relaxed paddle and short walk exploring the native flora and fauna of this secluded lake and the surrounding bush. Explore the secluded hidden waterway and take a short walk through the native bush to a pretty waterfall. Ideal for families or those wanting their first taste of kayaking in beautiful surroundings.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had an absolutely amazing time. Dave will guide you well and even with absolute novices like us, it became very easy to enjoy the scenery along with the kayaking. Highly recommend

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    11
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderland I didn't know was in my own backyard!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I work for a local company arranging trips for students and decided to arrange a trip to the Night Time Glow Worm Kayak Tour with Canoe and Kayak BOP. Not only were Estelle and Dave awesome people to deal with and really understanding of the sometimes challenging job of organising time and money with students they were bubbly, bright and fun!

The trip itself was INCREDIBLE I almost don't want to recommend to anyone else because I want it kept a secret it was soooo cool. I can't believe I have lived nearby nearly all my life and never knew such an aweomse, natural phenomena was there!
We were on time, had all our needs provided for, kayaked safely through the dark, HEARD A KIWI CALLING from the bush :o and saw the most beautiful display of glow worms in the canyon it was like kayaking through the stars!
Then to top it off, we were given hot drinks and chocolate at the end and dropped back to the school in their van.
Good on ya guys, wicked trip you have!!! :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank L and S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Owner at Canoe & Kayak Bay of Plenty, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
It was such a fun evening and the whole group really embraced the essence of kayaking in the dark to the glow worms. So glad we could surprise a local and show you something you didn't know existed so close to home. Welcome to join us any time and show some more students just what lies in the hills near by in the future.
Thanks for joining us on the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful evening”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

You're paddling on a silent lake lit by the moon. You turn a corner and find yourself overwhelmed by twinkling tiny stars arching up over and around you. Just a beautiful way to spend an evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had an amazing time, and our guide Sal really looked after us. The scenery was amazing, and Sal provided plenty of information about the area we were travelling through. When we finished earlier than anticipated, Sal even gave us a guided walking tour to the Maclaren waterfall. We really recommend this as a 'must do' for your travels to the Tauranga/Bay of Plenty area (we drove from Rotorua for the experience and it was really worth it).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dk7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great activity and service”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were recommended doing the night time glow warm tour by someone who lives in Mt. Maunganui. Our older teenage children really enjoyed it and they aren't easy to impress. The service was excellent and we can not fault it at all, hence the ranking!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer19Rodrigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe & Kayak Bay of Plenty also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Canoe & Kayak Bay of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing