We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont "Grab One" for this place”

Nautilus Restaurant
Ranked #238 of 386 Restaurants in Tauranga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nautilus Restaurant is a quality cafe , bar,Restaurant and also wedding venue situated right on the edge of Tauranga Harbour, with views overlooking the iconic Mount Maunganui.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dont "Grab One" for this place”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went along with our grab one voucher, the menu was very limited to a choice of two dishes per course. My partners main of beef in pastry looked good while my chicken wrapped apricot was a huge disapointment. There was about 75g of chicken. The desert was a shocker, the menu said banoffee with icecream which turned our to be deep fried over-ripe banana and some ice cream with a non descript suce on the plate. Completely inedible! The meals of those selecting from the usual menu looked good and just added to my own disapointment!
Not much atmosphere here, i dont like the way the tables are set out inside, it would have been nicer to sit outside where the view of the mount is fabulous but you always run the risk of being able to smell the neighbouring sewage works if the wind is in the wrong direction! I will go back again but not using a voucher.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank GoodTriptips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    31
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal, would definitely recommend”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I ate here again recently with close friends. This is the second time we have eaten here while on holiday at Mt Maunganui. Once again great meal and very friendly staff. As last year we were using a "Grab one voucher". This year limited choice on this menu, but it was still great. And very filling, we struggled to finish the 3 courses. I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a grab one food was great and the service too. Without Grabone i
it is more for a special occasion definitely worth it. Very good email service too. Thanks Maurice for being so nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FvdHPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, disappointing food”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The setting by the waterfront is lovely, decor is modern and well appointed, but unfortunately the meal was terrible. '
Steak tasted like it had been cooked on a BBQ plate that hadn't been cleaned for years. Huge conglomeration of stuff on the plate - soggy vegetables - broccoli, cauliflower, snow peas, carrots, kumara, shriveled courgette, battered onion rings look like they had been cooked in a fish and chip shop. The fries were well done and the asparagus was nice, but that was all.
Would have preferred less food with MUCH more finesse.
VERY disappointing considering mains are $32 - $38

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NO THANK YOU VERY MUCH!! Definitely wont go back again”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Long story short, food was the only "ok" things in this restaurant.

got one of those 3 course grabone deal. booked our table couple weeks ago and went there tonight. Have to stood there a couple of minutes waiting someone to greet us once we arrived. then waitress bring us to a empty table where no cutlery and serviette been set. totally feel treat 2nd class due to the grabone voucher.

the worst thing is, the table look like is temporary setup for us which located right infront of the wine cabinet! and guess what happen? waitress come to our table and taking bottle of wine across us while we are eating!! EVEN worst is, customers standing right beside our table and having a discussion what wine to choose from. how RIDICULOUS!!! WORST experience EVER.

thin doesnt stop there, the service from the owner(i guess) is dreadful! not friendly, not helpful, no smile, nothing! how can he be in hospitality line in the first place!? come to our table with food, put down, leave the table, with the "sour" face. same when is clearing the table.

the only OKAY thing was the food, is tasty and reasonable big portion. but both our beef fillet was wayyyyyy over well-done when we ask for medium. (pic attached)

Overall of the restaurant look unprofessional. messy table "office table" right in the service area with all the paperwork around. the menu is old and lots of item been cross off and the scribbled with handwriting menu.

Conclusion, bad experience, worst service and unhappy customer. top up with the unfriendly treatment at the cashier at the end of the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 2xchefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Nautilus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing