We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
110
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
110
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carrot cake farm view new zealand felt like royalty fresh flowers slice of paradise shih tzu magical stay spectacular property yummy cooked breakfast romantic getaway our honeymoon little touches yogurt wonderful hospitality kay carrots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 110 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We had a great stay with Kay (and her little dog) in her French Country House. We showed up at night and she had the entire home lit with gorgeous candles as we walked in the door. She is a fantastic host- kind, knowledgeable and always aiming to please/make our experience as good as possible. She knows when to be present and when to disappear, leaving our family with private time. It was a little odd to be in NZ and feel like you were in France, but we got used to it LOL. The home is well appointed- and well designed. She cooked us great food (with an assistant), and let us go feed the horses on the farm. The views from her deck are gorgeous and Kay has a wealth of information and recommendations for you if you are looking for things to do. We were in fact looking for an activity one day - she told us to go to this hike (which was as beautiful as she said) and then swing by a cute cafe for lunch (which was indeed cute and yummy). Breakfasts were filled with fresh coffee, fruit, eggs, granola, yogurt, toast and anything else you may want.
This is a high end BnB - and very authentic and unusual in design and concept.
We would recommend this place to others. Book the glow worm evening kayak there for a really amazing night out!

One note, no AC so if you get hot, oh well.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

As part of our round the world trip we stayed here on our final night in New Zealand as somewhere special.

We were warmly greeted by our host Kay to tea and delicious carrot cake and her lovely dog Freddie. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. We were extremely fortunate that we were the only guests so had this fantastic property to ourselves.

Kay is a wonderful host who will instantly make you feel that you have arrived home - a really special place for a getaway.

I rarely do this but I feel that I must comment on the one poor review on here - sorry but I am sure to some it may seem selfish that there are properties that are "Adults only" but many of us value this time. A review from somebody who has never stopped in this place but is annoyed because the policies didn't suit them - I don't really think they understand the word discrimination. I spent Christmas in a chain hotel full of families - absolutely no issue at all - I knew what I was getting and happily accepted it, but the French Country House is clearly a special place for couples not a Creche. Rant over!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GB2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2019 via mobile

The French Country House is just the most perfect place to stay. Absolutely stunning house, we stayed in the Farm View Room which was beautiful. We stayed for six nights and our host Kay couldn’t have looked after us better. Her breakfasts were amazing, and her carrot cake with my afternoon cup of tea was delicious. Freddie the dog was a little angel. I can not recommend this place highly enough, just wonderful. Thank you French Country House, and thank you Kay and Freddie.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nikki1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2019 via mobile

Elegant, welcoming and homely. We enjoyed our stay and experience at the French Country House. We married here as well. Kay doubled as both host and wedding planner. She executed each role so well. The vendors used for the wedding were also so lovely too so our appreciation and thanks to Kay again for arranging everything. The House is both rustic, grand and comforting and the added bonus of beautiful bucolic views and perfect ambience of romance and charm all set a lovely backdrop. We also love Freddie - he is a sweetheart! We cannot wait for our photos/video! With warm regards - Josh and Sarah

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MrandMrsjands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a little interlude before we met up with our kids and grandkids, it was absolutely beautiful. Our gorgeous host Kay met us and showed us around, she was so warm and friendly but very professional as well. The house looks like a chateau in the French countryside and the interior design is out of this world. Loved all the special little touches, port in the room, chocolates and then more chocolates on the bed at night, flowers everywhere, and flower petals scattered in the spa when we came back to our room at night. Kay cooked us amazing breakfasts and nibblies at night, we went for walks on the grounds where we saw lambs and fed horses, I could go on and on -perfection!! Thank you Kay for making our stay so special

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank martinp134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
988kayp, Manager at The French Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Thank you so much for your beautiful review... you both absolutely deserve to be spoilt and you are very special people. It touches my heart when I hear such kind words - please do come back - with much love Kay and Freddie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews