We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiate Falls

Kaiate Falls
Ranked #8 of 83 things to do in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
russia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visit if you are in the area, beautiful just like the whole NZ country is. But do not get far out of your way for it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank indep_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    50
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I am wowed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The falls are truly a reflection of God's glory. I am in awe of this wonder.

Perfect for hiking as there are tracks provided.

If you want to reflect or just be close to nature, this is the right place for you. The tranquility and stillness of its beauty can shift your mood. You would love this if nature is your interest.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisdommatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the steep walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A fantastic view from above & delightful pools at the bottom.
Wouldn't recommend this for anyone with dodgy knees though!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sproutie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“want to jump off again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

last time I went there and jump off from the criff to the water was quite long time ago but, I always wanted to try again but, I forgot the name of the falls and how to get there so, lucky I found this!!! I had lovely time walking down/up the track (you can see the Mount from there!), do little picnic, and jump into fresh water! other reviews motivated me to jump off again already. highly recommend :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KauriTree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kaiate Falls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Beautiful spot , nice walks , really quiet but high crime area - not a good idea to leave your car unattended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank emeraldkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiate Falls also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Kaiate Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing