We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Variety & Timely Service”

Eastern Ocean Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #278 of 379 Restaurants in Tauranga
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Variety & Timely Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband & I visited this authentic Chinese restaurant two days ago & were greatly impressed by the professional, courteous service & steaming hot food that arrived at our table very quickly. We had booked ahead of time & arrived early evening, we were given a warm greeting & asked which table we would like to be seated at. A check sheet was placed in front of us so we could check boxes next to items on the Dim Sum (Yum Cha) menu which had a good variety of dishes to choose from. Food arrived quickly in steaming hot in bamboo steamer baskets & the different dishes we shared were delicious. The atmosphere felt very authentic & wait staff were courteous & very attentive which ensured a very enjoyable dining experience of which we shall repeat in the very near future.
The bill was delivered to our table quickly & we were pleasantly suprised at how reasonable it was & there were no issues when we handed a 'Grab A Deal' voucher over with our payment.
The only drawback was that the place-mats had seen better days & appeared a bit grubby/greasy and the water glasses/jug were fairly old/stained, however these issues can be easily remedied & the rest of our dining experience was outstanding:)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    9
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“truly Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very good Chinese food, plates are always filled up, lots of choice and totally chinese ambiance. Like in Hong Kong when the families meet.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Eastern Ocean Chinese Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went in for lunch with 16 people. Booked for 4 tables but were offered 2 when arrived. Limited food choices for Yum cha. Has to order more foods from menu. Refused to take 2 grabone coupons per table as 8 people were asked to sit together at one table. We had to sell back the remaining coupons to them at a price less than what we paid for. Definitely not a good dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Hype or now a GREAT Chinese Restaurant?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

A glowing review in the Sun newspaper caused us to come to the Eastern Ocean – was it just advertising hype, or was it in fact an excellent Chinese restaurant?
Well we can tell you that the food was excellent; the service was excellent; and value was EXCELLENT.
We were greeted politely and shown to a table. Our orders were taken quickly and the selected dishes, Beef with vegetables in Szechwan Sauce and Sizzling Chicken with vegetables in Black bean Sauce, plus side dishes of rice, arrived at our table freshly cooked, steaming hot and delicious – and all in 20 minutes.
As for earlier reviews that were very critical, the Eastern Ocean Chinese Restaurant is now under new management and new chefs. This is real quality Chinese food right in Tauranga!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum Cha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the place to go for a Saturday lunch with a group of friends. Excellent Yum Ch and very fairly priced. There is nothing flash about this place but it is clean and you get a delicious variety of freshly steamed or fried goodies. No chicken feet when we went there but I was grateful for that. I loved everything I ate

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishwatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Ocean Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Eastern Ocean Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing