We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crispy clear water” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernland Spa

Fernland Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Spas & Wellness in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
237 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Crispy clear water”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have visited Fernlands a couple of times over the past 4 years (when visiting our family in Tauranga).The setting is stunning and you get that "I'm in paradise" feeling. The pool water is crispy clear and warm. I understand they drain the pool every day, which explains the "good" feel the water has. We love going there late afternoon too relax and soak in the warm water. I just think they are a bit expensive for what they offer in comparison to other pools in town, especially if you have young children that enjoy a water slide, toddlers pool, etc. Nevertheless, a nice place to go and enjoy the quite surroundings.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WillemLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi William , thanks for your feedback. Yes we do drain all pools each evening , the cleaners are in at 4 am and we start refilling at 6am. The water is as you say beautiful, clear mineral water and it is great to be able to enjoy this beneficial natural resource.
As a geothermal complex we offer a different option than the council run chlorinated pools. We are considering options that could provide more entertainment for young children that still ties in with our natural piece of paradise.
Hope to see you next time you are back in Tauranga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    75
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good massage, poor facilities”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The best way to describe this spa is as "an opportunity lost". First, make sure you bring cash because even if you have your savings or cheque account linked to your credit card their EFTPOS machines won't accept your card. Bring your own water, they don't offer any to you after the massage. They don't have their own masseuses on site and call them in from outside, so you need to book in early (and then later wonder why you didn't just make a booking with a masseur directly). The facilities are old and tired, although the grounds around the parking area are lovely. If you are after a good massage the go to a massage business direct or one of the day spas in Tauranga or the Mount. This place is not worth the effort.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthe_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback , we value comments to help us improve our facility.
I am very sorry you were disappointed by our complex.
You rightly point out we did not offer water for you after your massage and that has been rectified . Our complex is due to be painted again in 3 weeks after we finish our annual refurbishment of all our pools and yes it does need a little spruce up, Fernland Spa has been a favored spot for over 46 years and I am sure if you come back to visit us a bit later in the year you will see the ongoing maintenance and new paint job.
We do not have massage therapist on site but have a fabulous team we use regularly , we can usually arrange massages promptly but like all service providers there is usually some advance booking required
We are a natural mineral bathing complex , our clients book their massages with us to take advantage of the complimentary soak they enjoy before the massage.
As you point out you can most certainly book a massage directly with a therapist in a massage clinic but the benefits of the mineral soak is not gained.
I do welcome you to contact us again and after our busy time of pool painting and building maintenance and am confident we will provide a experience you will be happy with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hidden paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

A pretty spot for a relaxing time out. The new gem stone wall and other upgrades are modernizing and old favorite. The mineral pools are the perfect temperature and cater for all ages. Gotta check this one out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Spa Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

No faux fiberglass boulders here or fantasy themes. A pleasant quintessentially informal NZ setting with clean soothing warm soda water doing wonders for your skin and mind. I recommend the private pools, economical and peaceful. No glitz, clean basic wonderfully relaxing. A half hour should do wonders for you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wizzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Fernland Spa is a great place for couples to relax; families and groups love this place for BBQs etc too!
My wife and I have been regular visitors over the past 20 years.
I recommend the private pools for couples.
Handy location to town too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlieandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Great that you have been enjoying Fernland Spa for 20 years , hope we see you over the next 20 years too .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernland Spa also viewed

 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Fernland Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing