We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden paradise”
Review of Fernland Spa

Fernland Spa
Ranked #4 of 14 Spas & Wellness in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fernland Spa Thermal Mineral Springs Hot Pools . Our pure mineral geothermal pool complex , situated in an oasis of spectacular bush and park like grounds 5 minutes from downtown Tauranga . We have one large main pool nestled among towering tree ferns and native foliage, enjoy the bird song during the day and the magical lighting at night. Or choose one of 8 spacious private pools, all have a changing area , toilet and shower . Our pools are 100% pure, crystal clear natural mineral water . All pools have a continuous flow of fresh mineral water and are emptied cleaned and refilled daily. A great stop over for camper vans with large sites and a tranquil environment , free access to the main pool is included . Large picnic grounds Massage service , booking essential.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A pretty spot for a relaxing time out. The new gem stone wall and other upgrades are modernizing and old favorite. The mineral pools are the perfect temperature and cater for all ages. Gotta check this one out.

Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 201 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

No faux fiberglass boulders here or fantasy themes. A pleasant quintessentially informal NZ setting with clean soothing warm soda water doing wonders for your skin and mind. I recommend the private pools, economical and peaceful. No glitz, clean basic wonderfully relaxing. A half hour should do wonders for you.

Thank Wizzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Fernland Spa is a great place for couples to relax; families and groups love this place for BBQs etc too!
My wife and I have been regular visitors over the past 20 years.
I recommend the private pools for couples.
Handy location to town too!

Thank CharlieandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Great that you have been enjoying Fernland Spa for 20 years , hope we see you over the next 20 years too .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have taken overseas visitors here and they are amazed with the peaceful setting. I also take my grand-daughter here who loves the private pools. Staff are extra friendly and when they know I am taking the little one they keep the pool to a safe temp for her.

Thank 12SusieQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi Susie , thanks for bringing your out of town guests , the setting does always impress. And yes we are so very lucky with our great staff .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice quiet hot pools in a natural setting, at a very good price. Basic but clean and tidy facilities with helpful staff.
Note: a shade sail would be very handy for the summer months.

Nice place for campers and picnickers as well!

Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi James , thanks for the feedback, we are in the process of organizing some areas of shade around the main pool. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernland Spa also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Fernland Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing