We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish & Chips”

Bobby's Fresh Fish Market
Ranked #3 of 382 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best fish and chips in the Bay of Plenty!
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great fish, fresh, delicious, crispy batter, crunchy chips & sitting at tables on the old wharf is stunning on a summer's evening. Covered tables there for colder days. It's so popular you have to wait a bit for your food, but that only proves how good the food is, so many people go there. Awesome place to take little kids too (as long as you watch them near the water).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    191
    46
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed - they gave us frozen packet calamari rings.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have been travelling to Tauranga off an on for over 20 years and I have been to Bobby's many times. It's always been one of the places that I would take the kids to eat before we left Tauranga to come back home to Melbourne.

We last visited on Friday 23rd November and I can't tell you how disappointed I was with the quality of the seafood as compared to all previous visits.

The fish was fairly normal - nothing particularly good or bad about it and the chips were good. The spring rolls and calamari rings were from a frozen packet!!! Trust me I know what calamari rings are and can easily tell the difference. As we had bought takeaway and had left already I wasn't able to go back and complain. I was extremely disappointed.

Maybe this was a one-off issue but if they had run out of fresh calamari I would have expected them to tell us - not to go and use a frozen packet replacement.

Not happy!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish Yummy”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Best fish & chips in the world. Freshly caught fish bought right up to the docks and filleted ready to be eaten each day. Yummy batter, good food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerewai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It really is the best fish!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

People say their town has the best fish and chips but this REALLY is the best fish and chips, you cant get any fresher, you're at the warf. Try the fish kebabs, oh just delicious! Make sure you phone and book order first as there is a wait in the evenings, this shop is POPULAR, and for a reason.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Best fish and chips ever!!!!! Every time we have gone and had a meal there the food has been amazing. Great size portion and cooked to perfection every time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlaE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby's Fresh Fish Market also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Bobby's Fresh Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing