We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely pleased” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Blue Tauranga

Dolphin Blue Tauranga
Ranked #27 of 59 Tours in Tauranga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We'll give you the chance to go swimming with dolphins or simply watching them in the beautiful Bay of Plenty. Our aim each day is to locate, interact and swim with dolphins. We also offer other activities en-route - snorkeling, swimming or relaxing onboard.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Completely pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

We enjoyed our outing with Dolphin Blue very much. The captain was assiduous in searching for dolphin pods with great success. The boat was excellent and just the right size for a companionable experience, especially for the "swimming" option which we used. The owners were really pleasant people to spend a day on the water.with.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank rcm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic glimpse into the world of dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

This trip is worth it. Do not be put off by the expense of this charter. Paul and Alison Aitken do what they can to ensure you have a memorable and enjoyable trip without getting too commercial. They have a small client to guide ratio which allows for a more personalized trip. Their hospitality is most welcoming. Warm and cool drinks along with small snacks are provided. Wet suits/lifejackets/ snorkel gear are all available. Sunscreen was offered to ensure you didn't burn as well. We have seven and nine year old children and the crew ensured they were safe at all times. As noted in their guarantee they try to reschedule another trip if you do not see dolphins on the day of your charter. Our first try for the charter was on the day of the Christchurch earthquake and bigger than usual ocean swells were present. Paul and Alison made a point of rescheduling another trip so we were not disappointed. That's service!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank pkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
1 review
“Fantastic day on a nice boat with lots of dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

The advantage is that the boat only takes upto 15 people, so it is a really nice relaxing atmosphere and we were treated with a lot of sympathy by captain Paul and his lovely wife. We've seen 3 pots of dolphins (16 + 6 + 10), 1 shark and a little pinguin. The weather was beautifull. We put the wetsuits on and jumped into the water for a swim with the dolphins, but they preferred to stay at the front of the boat, and we were at the back. In any case, the dolphins seemed to really enjoy our company and were jumping in and out of the water all the time. An unforgetable day at the beautifull Bay of Plenty.
Thanks

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank inge_nuytemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Day and Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

I had a fantastic day out with Dolphin Blue. We were a small group and Paul and Alison treated everyone as though they were family. We didn’t have much luck locating any dolphins on the way out so we went into a lovely bay for lunch and a swim. I snorkeled for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. On the way back we came across a pod of dolphins but they didn’t hang around for long but at least we saw them up close.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
“Wonderful Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful day with Paul and Alison. There is no guarantee that you will see dolphins on any given day, but we saw a pod after about an hour of looking and quickly drew up to them and took dozens of pictures. We then hopped in the water and were pulled behind the boat to "swim" with the dolphins for another 30 minutes or so. Paul and Alison are full of great information about the local ecology and are very sensitive to the health of the local habitat. They take no more than 12 persons per trip and our group had 8. Another boat pulled up along ours and had some 30 or so folks aboard and looked crowded and harried. Everyone seemed to be following Dolphin Blue's lead for the best place to be. It is a relaxed and leisurely day that lasts some 6 - 7 hours, with dolphin viewing/swimming, snorkeling, fishing, and other events as they arise. It was a once in a lifetime experience.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank rexnann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Blue Tauranga also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Dolphin Blue Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing