We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour City Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Great location (opposite I-site). Received a really friendly welcome. Rooms were good and very clean. Had a ground floor room, which I agree with others lacks privacy, but would not let this put me of. Already planning our trip for 2014 and will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its central location and free parking. We got both. However, all of the rooms seem to face the parking lot, which I find very off-putting. So we were on the ground floor, with our windows facing parked cars and eye-level with passing hotel guests. There were no voile type curtains to let in light while offering some privacy... so we had to close the blinds and be in a dark room in the middle of the afternoon. This really bothered me. Other complaints are that we could hear actual conversations coming from the unit next door and the bed was way too soft. Also, I expected that "High-speed Broadband Internet" meant Wi-Fi because c'mon... who doesn't offer Wi-Fi nowadays-- but they had only wired internet which I can't use on my smart phone. On the plus side, the room was very clean and you're right in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

We have taken your comments onboard and now have W-Fi available in all rooms.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Right in the middle of Tauranga within walking distance of all the restaurants and bars. Only had one night here as a walk in, the staff were very friendly and helpful, room excellent. Will defintiely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have stayed at the HCMI about two to three times a year since about 2006.We have always been thankful for the friendly welcome at reception and the spotless presentation of our room. The position of the motor inn being just a stones throw from the many downtown restaurants and shopping precinct is another bonus.Add to this the spacious room ,kitchenette and spa bath,etc and we can understand why we always stay here when we travel south to Tauranga.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We arrived too early to get in the unit but there was no problem leaving the car behind while we went into town (just a very short walk away). When we got into the room, we were offered all things available, plus anything else we needed, just ask (it was a disabled unit). It was extremely clean, very spacious, comfortable beds, extra bedding and pillows, good kitchenette, quiet location, very helpful staff, very friendly. Couldn't have asked for better - in anything! No complaints, no worries - would DEFINITELY stay here again. Owners - pat yourself on the back - you are awesome!!!

Room Tip: Any room looked to be a good room the way it is laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Motel was nicely situated in the center of town and you can walk to a heap of eateries. Motel is clean and staff are proffesional. Room was spacious and had a flat screen tv.

I will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Easy to find, nice modern accommodation with very pleasant accommodating staff. Handy to all shops and restaurants. Would be one of the cleanest, tidiest, well equipped places we have stayed at with a spa bath thrown in for good measure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogibears4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour City Motor Inn

Address: 50 Wharf Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $112 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbour City Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star plus upmarket motel in CBD. Opposite Baycourt Theatre. Close to Cafes & Restaurants. FREE wi-fi. 20 air-con units with spa baths, cooking facilities, LCD TVs, Electric Blankets, SKY TV, latest magazines . Complimentary Car parking. 14 studio rooms, 2 access rooms & 4 1 bedroom units. Conference Facilities on site. Management on site. Fluent French speaking host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harbour City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing