We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ASURE Harbour View Motel
Ranked #1 of 28 Tauranga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As other reviewers note - the rooms are very large and perfect for families - I've lived in smaller flats! Yes, some of the fixtures and fittings are little dated, but everything was clean and in good working order, so where's the problem! Friendly welcome from the hosts, who were suggested we borrow the kayaks, so we paddled down to the town, they also offer a free guest laundry with moden machines, which was a big boon for us whilst travelling, with a proper washing line. Quiet location, but easy to find once you spot the sign!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Manager at ASURE Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback.
Harbour View Motel is now under new ownership and is looking great!
The unit's have all been refurbished with new beds, new couches, kitchen equipment etc, we have also painted and paid a lot of attention to smaller detail.
We are about to under-go renovations on the bathrooms and kitchens.
We really appreciate your positive response to our motel and we would love to have you back at Harbour View Motel if you are ever in New Zealand again and visiting the Bay of Plenty.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 160 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed in this motel twice (first in April 2012 and, most recently, last week-end of Oct 2012).
It's tucked away, but very close to CBD-only 5 min walk.
The value for $$ is truly amazing: units are more like flats than motel rooms: there is a main bedroom, completely separate smaller bedroom w/two single beds, separate kitchen w/everything one might need and a table to sit down and have a meal at and a separate bathroom.
I've stayed at room 7 and the main bedroom is seriously huge, especially in comparison with modern hotel/motel rooms. There is a queen bed, a couch, 2 very comfy armchairs, coffee table,flat-screen TV and still more than plenty of room to move around.
The room has beautiful bay windows overlooking the water. The views are truly spectacular. There is even an oversized pillow thoughfully provided by the host, so one can sit comfortably while enjoying spectacular sunsets/sunrises.
There is plenty of designated motel parking and street parking is also available (all free).
Bedcovers were clearly updated recently, as they are very modern and fresh, but none of that standard "motel/hotel" issue-they actually make you feel that you are at home.
Rooms are impeccably clean and linen is very good quality and new.
Plenty of SKY channels on TV and free Wi-Fi provided by the motel.
The place is very quiet and hosts are not intrusive, yet very helpful.
I will definitely stay there again in my next visit to Tauranga

Room Tip: Room 7 is absolutely fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

What drew us to this motel was its two bedroom layout, which was fabulous for our young children with two single beds in a separate bedroom and we really liked that the kitchen was separate as well - not the focus when you walked into the room.

We were genuinely impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms as they are quite dated and really need upgrading. The only negatives we had was that my husband had to get a screw driver and tighten a lot of things that were dangerous - the deadlock wasn't screwed in so the door couldn't lock properly, the TV table wobbled cause it wasn't tight, a window wouldn't shut as hinges not tight. Also most worryingly the hot shower tap ran hot water out of the tap.

Overall a really pleasant stay in a nice quiet area but some up keep of the unit we stayed in would go a long way.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Manager at ASURE Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Harbour View Motel is now under new ownership.
We have refurbished, painted and have paid attention to all the small details you have mentioned since taking over. We are about to embark on renovations of the bathrooms and kitchens. And we would love to have you back to enjoy our great location on the water's edge.

We really appreciate your positive response!
All our Units are JUST as spacious, being upstairs or downstairs. They all have two separate sleeping areas with en-suite bathrooms and full kitchens. And are perfect for families and for business/corporate clients.
Look forward to getting your feedback once you have stayed after our renovations!
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We came across this place long after dark and were made most welcome by reception. We were warned in advance that workmen would be arriving about 7am to work on the roof and so might disturb us. We were grateful to be warned but it was not a problem as we were up and off reasonably early ourselves. It was a great deal and the facilities were just everything that we wanted. We were able to use the guest laundry. The suite had a distinctly separate kitchen which was well supplied. We were able to have a great dinner and breakfast there with provisions from a nearby supermarket. There were heaters in each of the rooms and so it was cosy. We would definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Manager at ASURE Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Harbour View Motel is under new ownership.
The rooms have been refurbished, painted and attention has been made to smaller detail.
We are about to begin renovations on the bathrooms and kitchen, we intend for them to be upgraded and modernised.
Glad to hear you had a pleasant experience.
All our Units are very spacious with full kitchens and en-suite bathrooms with shower and vanity.
Guest Laundry is available and we are more than happy for you to use this facility.
We would love to host you again if you are ever back in New Zealand and the Bay of Plenty.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Owner at ASURE Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Owner at ASURE Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank René J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol P, Owner at ASURE Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#22 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Harbour View Motel

Address: 7 Fifth Avenue East | access from cnr Devonport Road & 6th Ave, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tauranga
Price Range: $105 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ASURE Harbour View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just meters from the water's edge, free Wi-Fi, free use of kayaks and bicycles, full of character and charm, the Harbour View Motel is tucked into a small quiet cul-de-sac and only a short walk to the City Centre, waterfront, movies, shops and restaurants. An established Four Star accredited Motel which provides spacious studio, one bedroom and family units with full kitchen facilities and en-suite bathrooms. All upstairs units have water views. We have a leisure centre with free-kayaks and bicycle's for you to cruise down to the waterfront or cycle around the Waikareo Estuary or a bit further across to our beach suburb Mount Maunganui which is just 12 to 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your ASURE Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing