We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hidden gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omokoroa Kiwi Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We were travelling in a camper-van and were not planning on staying in this area. We were tired and saw the sign for a camp ground. That was misleading as this place is so much more than just a campground or motor camp. It is truly amazing and we have raved about it since we left. Right from the moment we walked into the office and got such a friendly welcome until the morning when we left we were totally in awe of this amazing place. We just cannot speak highly enough about it. The whole place is just so clean and tidy, the kitchen is worth the price of admission just to see it. Our only dissapointment is that we could only stay one night but we will definately be back. We even offered the cleaner a job in the South and the offer still stands.. Thanks for a wonderful stay, keep up the good work. A credit to you all

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatterhornSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is one of those spots a bit off the tourist track, but worth pursuing. This Thermal Holiday Park is part of the Kiwi system, catering to backpackers, as well as people staying in cabins. We stayed in a cabin, which was not only comfortable and clean but surprisingly well furnished, right down to the juicer!

The best part was the mineral thermal pools - two pools plus a spa. So lovely, and most of the time we were the only inhabitants, it being Springtime. One of the pools is shallow (3-4 feet), so good for children. We would go out of our way to go there again, if we ever get to the North Island again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June_Ib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We called into Omokoroa Thermal Park this month after remembering a visit we had here 8 years ago. This time we bought our two small children with us. So glad we came back!
The camp is spotless and well laid out, the staff are very friendly and the hot pools are a huge bonus! Our kids had a fantastic time socialising with the other kids at the camp within a safe, kid -friendly environment. Would highly recommend this camp and we will definetely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakysontherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed only one night at Omokoroa but we will be back. The pools are so relaxing, the staff very helpful, the facilities clean and well fitted for a camping site. Nice easy walkpaths down to the waterfront for those who like some exercise. I cannot rate the rooms as we have our own motorhome but from the outside they look good.

A very enjoyable stay. We have already recommended this park to our family for a great getaway weekend. Thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bshive_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We were met with very friendly staff, we booked a unit which was great, clean and very comfortable, the hot pools were magic. After walking around the holiday park we are now coming back with our tent they have all the facilities, laundry, showers kitchen great barbaque area undercover community eating area and childrens playground.
It is only 5mins drive to omokoroa beach and a restaurant. there is a boat club that has
great meals, lovely walks short or long. you can even hire kayaks from them.
Great time for any one

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The park is wonderful - relaxing pools, great facilities, beautifully maintained and presented but its the people that make the real difference. We have to say that the team at Omokoroa Holiday Park were exceptional and are great ambassadors for NZ.

We checked in for an overnight stay after driving from Auckland Airport only to discover that we had left our toddler's bag behind. After a stressful evening, we were able to confirm that the Airport had the bag the next morning - I drove back to the Airport to pick it up. In the meantime, Sue had given us some spare nappies, calmed us down, and let my partner and child stay in the cabin while I was gone. I returned, Sue calmed us down, instructed us to take our time, have a swim and get some lunch before departing.

That support, concern and reassurance turned a horror start to our NZ holiday into a pleasant reminder that there are really good people out there that are willing to help others. Luckily some of them run this park!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwihikerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Winter holidays came around and it had seemed like a long winter already and was running out of ideas to entertain the kids. Omokoroao Thermal Holiday Park delivered the pools and playground certainly kept them busy and both kids were out like a light all 4 nights! The facilities overall were very well kept, lovely gardens and friendly staff and hot pools to die for! For sure to be returning in the summer to get down to that beach as well but a great spot all year round.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
6.6 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
348 reviews
7.5 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,168 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cosy Corner Holiday Park
Cosy Corner Holiday Park
#2 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
70 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omokoroa Kiwi Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omokoroa Kiwi Holiday Park

Address: 165 Omokoroa Road, Tauranga 3172, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Tauranga
Price Range: $51 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Omokoroa Kiwi Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for holiday accommodation in Tauranga, Bay of Plenty? Look no further than Omokoroa Thermal Kiwi Holiday Park! Our campground has plenty of choice, ranging from camp sites, caravan and motorhome sites to top quality motel units and cabins, all surrounded by beautiful gardens. We have accommodation to suit all budgets and a large covered outdoor dining area which makes us a great choice for school, social club and family groups. The Bay of Plenty is widely renowned for its great fishing and we are only a short distance from Omokoroa's boat ramp and wharf, making it easy and great fun for the whole family. Have a real kiwi holiday experience in Omokoroa, a quiet peninsula surrounded by the Tauranga harbour. It's a fun place to stay, centrally located in the Western Bay of Plenty region, close to a variety of activities and attractions. Families and travellers just love Omokoroa with its safe beach, great fishing spots, and calm waters for canoeing and kayaking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Omokoroa Kiwi Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing