We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”
Review of Strand Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strand Motel
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were quoted to have a kitchen, a double bed and a single bed in our room. On arrival we found that we had no kitchen and only a double bed. When asking the person in charge she told us it was our fault and I asked for what and did not get an answer. All the emails I had recieved from Strand Motel comfirmed what I had asked for. I ended up gettin a mattress from the motel and sleeping on the floor and they still charged us $95.00. This is the worst Motel I have ever stayed in and would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Interesting this person did not also state he was compensated for our mistake and effectively only paid $75 for the unit for the two of them.
He could have declined the unit on arrival but accepted the offer of an extra mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The owners here are a bit uptight. They came to our room and lectured us within 30 minutes of arriving not to make noise, have guests etc... they constantly watch you on cctv which is good for security - but not much else. We cause no problems but were approached and yelled at on multiple occassions (like when we came to drop off our beach gear before dinner and had some friends help us with our bags). The train runs across the road at all hours of the day and night. The walls are thin and we were kept awake by noisy neighbours throughout the night (we wondered where their lectures were?) The walking distance to the bars and clubs redeemed it, but not by much..... they provided tea and coffee sachets but no milk? could do with some fresh paint. The other bonus was the sheltered car park - great to keep the sun off your car....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolateyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
For the hundreds of guests who keep returning to stay with us get amused when we show them these reviews to gauge their responses so we can manage our best practices.
It is without exception they all agree with our unique need to ensure guests are reminded when appropriate our Motel is situated in the heart of the Tauranga intertainment centre and is prone to uninvited persons taking advantage of our location and entering the Motel complex to join anyone outside their unit for drinks...because out side our boundary is a "liquor free zone"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

-advantage : location.
located in city central but, that is also one of disadvantage. cuz this motel is surounded many pubs and clubs, especially club is too close to sleep.
-dis. : all of stuffes are too ald to use. BED!! and not enough dishes bowles and so on, one of the worst thing is the service!!! the hostess should be learn how to provide service to customers!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ker0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
We do accept we are close to Tauranga`s entertainment centre...to some thats a bonus to others who want a quite night on a Friday/Saturday it can be noisy at times.
Regarding service I believe my wife (who mostly looks after the motel) is well liked and appreciated by so many returning quests and new ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tauranga hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We went there because of the good location. But we had really unhappy night. Ive been many motels but i never met any host like her. Never smile, so grumpy and never replied hello or hi to us. And you should know their regulations such as no drinks after 7pm!!!!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank teerak0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Diffilcult to understand how someone could accuse someone of being grumpy...the accommodation business is no different from any other business...you do your utmost to ensure the customer is happy and regardless of all the things that could go wrong and often do...you keep smiling.
In regards to no drinking after 7pm...the notice in the units is pretty simple...it states "no visitors after 7pm...no mention about drinking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour City Motor Inn
Harbour City Motor Inn
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durham Motor Inn
Durham Motor Inn
#41 of 57 in Tauranga
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Motel

Property: Strand Motel
Address: 27 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing