We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Central CBD”
Review of Strand Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strand Motel
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just got back from an almost two week stay at the Strand and loved it.
Granted the proximity to train tracks and the central nightlife area means there can be quite some noise at times but owners warn of this beforehand
Nevertheless we found it a great place to stay. The decor was a little dated but other than everything was more than satisfactory. Clean and neat, with all the necessary amenities. More than enough dishes, utensils and kitchen gadgets. Large sink, microwave, ceramic cooktop and fridge, with lots of kitchen storage space.

Only issue we had was it got quite warm especially at nights and opening windows to let in the cool air sometimes also came with the smoky smell of those getting their nightime nicotine fix, but guess that cant be helped.

The location was the best feature especially for those wanting to cook their own meals like us. Across the road is the Fish Market, which is always busy all day long and is open quite late too, closing at about 7pm most days. The made to order fish and chips seem to be the most popular and are quite generous servings too. Also can buy seafood to cook yourself and then pop back across the road to cook it fresh like we did the delicious salmon. Next block over and a minutes walk away is the best little fresh fruits and vegetable shop, prices were some of the cheapest around. There are several markets in the area, but what I wish I had gone to was the early Saturday market. The supermarkets are a couple minutes drive away but since we didnt have a car the owners kindly arranged for us to get a lift to the supermarket. Also fresh towels every day and an additional nice gesture was the daily paper delivery.

Other than that, the Strand is very close to the main bus depot, 2 min stroll away, and buses towards the supermarket, neighbouring suburbs and the Mount leave regularly. The central city area and a wide range of shops, eateries, banks, post office, souvenir shops are all literally down the road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingRose_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2015

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in the Strand Motel a few months ago, in March 2011. We were staying in Tauranga for a Wedding, and wanted somewhere inexpensive that was close to town. The Strand Motel was just that - great value for money, and situated right in town. Whilst the accommodation itself is fairly basic, our unit was clean and the owners were so accommodating - very helpful when we needed directions, had to order a taxi etc. If you are after a budget place to stay, that is clean, well run and close to the Tauranga nightlife - I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMW255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2015

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had booked out the whole motel for our club (20 people). This was our first trip to Tauranga as a club, although personally have been there before. On arrival we were met by the Manager who gave us the keys to our units. The units were cold and had a damp feeling. We had chosen this motel for its location to the Wharf for our fishermen and the town for the ladies. Big mistake. For the two nights we were there we hardly slept with the noise of the club at the rear of the club until 3.30am and the shunting of the freight trains in the night. The beds were clean although not very comfy. Although we had read the previous reviews we thought that some peoples expectations were different from ours. However, they were right and we were wrong. The whole motel is very old and tired. The motel would benefit from a good facelift including some sort of sound blocking on the front units. It would suit more of a backpacker situation. Apart from the Motel, Tauranga is a great place.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pisces950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

A couple of these ladies who tagged along with the fishermen to come shopping complained about the noise after the first night. I reminded them our caution when they booked, although the charter boat left from across the road from the motel which was great for the fishermen the negative was our closeness to the entertainment heart of Tauranga which can be noisy at times. I also reminded the guy I dealt with who helped organise the booking and informed me it wasn’t a problem with him and added financially it was the best deal by far compared to previous fishing trips they had in the past. Her other comments are personnel and conflict with other visitors who keep returning because of the value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were quoted to have a kitchen, a double bed and a single bed in our room. On arrival we found that we had no kitchen and only a double bed. When asking the person in charge she told us it was our fault and I asked for what and did not get an answer. All the emails I had recieved from Strand Motel comfirmed what I had asked for. I ended up gettin a mattress from the motel and sleeping on the floor and they still charged us $95.00. This is the worst Motel I have ever stayed in and would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Interesting this person did not also state he was compensated for our mistake and effectively only paid $75 for the unit for the two of them.
He could have declined the unit on arrival but accepted the offer of an extra mattress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The owners here are a bit uptight. They came to our room and lectured us within 30 minutes of arriving not to make noise, have guests etc... they constantly watch you on cctv which is good for security - but not much else. We cause no problems but were approached and yelled at on multiple occassions (like when we came to drop off our beach gear before dinner and had some friends help us with our bags). The train runs across the road at all hours of the day and night. The walls are thin and we were kept awake by noisy neighbours throughout the night (we wondered where their lectures were?) The walking distance to the bars and clubs redeemed it, but not by much..... they provided tea and coffee sachets but no milk? could do with some fresh paint. The other bonus was the sheltered car park - great to keep the sun off your car....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chocolateyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

For the hundreds of guests who keep returning to stay with us get amused when we show them these reviews to gauge their responses so we can manage our best practices.
It is without exception they all agree with our unique need to ensure guests are reminded when appropriate our Motel is situated in the heart of the Tauranga intertainment centre and is prone to uninvited persons taking advantage of our location and entering the Motel complex to join anyone outside their unit for drinks...because out side our boundary is a "liquor free zone"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

-advantage : location.
located in city central but, that is also one of disadvantage. cuz this motel is surounded many pubs and clubs, especially club is too close to sleep.
-dis. : all of stuffes are too ald to use. BED!! and not enough dishes bowles and so on, one of the worst thing is the service!!! the hostess should be learn how to provide service to customers!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ker0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

We do accept we are close to Tauranga`s entertainment centre...to some thats a bonus to others who want a quite night on a Friday/Saturday it can be noisy at times.
Regarding service I believe my wife (who mostly looks after the motel) is well liked and appreciated by so many returning quests and new ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We went there because of the good location. But we had really unhappy night. Ive been many motels but i never met any host like her. Never smile, so grumpy and never replied hello or hi to us. And you should know their regulations such as no drinks after 7pm!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank teerak0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Diffilcult to understand how someone could accuse someone of being grumpy...the accommodation business is no different from any other business...you do your utmost to ensure the customer is happy and regardless of all the things that could go wrong and often do...you keep smiling.
In regards to no drinking after 7pm...the notice in the units is pretty simple...it states "no visitors after 7pm...no mention about drinking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
317 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
#16 of 57 in Tauranga
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbourside City Backpackers
2.3 mi away
Fountain Court Motel
Fountain Court Motel
#37 of 57 in Tauranga
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Motel

Address: 27 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $80 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Strand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing