We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We won't be back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tauranga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strand Motel
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had booked out the whole motel for our club (20 people). This was our first trip to Tauranga as a club, although personally have been there before. On arrival we were met by the Manager who gave us the keys to our units. The units were cold and had a damp feeling. We had chosen this motel for its location to the Wharf for our fishermen and the town for the ladies. Big mistake. For the two nights we were there we hardly slept with the noise of the club at the rear of the club until 3.30am and the shunting of the freight trains in the night. The beds were clean although not very comfy. Although we had read the previous reviews we thought that some peoples expectations were different from ours. However, they were right and we were wrong. The whole motel is very old and tired. The motel would benefit from a good facelift including some sort of sound blocking on the front units. It would suit more of a backpacker situation. Apart from the Motel, Tauranga is a great place.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pisces950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
A couple of these ladies who tagged along with the fishermen to come shopping complained about the noise after the first night. I reminded them our caution when they booked, although the charter boat left from across the road from the motel which was great for the fishermen the negative was our closeness to the entertainment heart of Tauranga which can be noisy at times. I also reminded the guy I dealt with who helped organise the booking and informed me it wasn’t a problem with him and added financially it was the best deal by far compared to previous fishing trips they had in the past. Her other comments are personnel and conflict with other visitors who keep returning because of the value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were quoted to have a kitchen, a double bed and a single bed in our room. On arrival we found that we had no kitchen and only a double bed. When asking the person in charge she told us it was our fault and I asked for what and did not get an answer. All the emails I had recieved from Strand Motel comfirmed what I had asked for. I ended up gettin a mattress from the motel and sleeping on the floor and they still charged us $95.00. This is the worst Motel I have ever stayed in and would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Interesting this person did not also state he was compensated for our mistake and effectively only paid $75 for the unit for the two of them.
He could have declined the unit on arrival but accepted the offer of an extra mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tauranga hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

The owners here are a bit uptight. They came to our room and lectured us within 30 minutes of arriving not to make noise, have guests etc... they constantly watch you on cctv which is good for security - but not much else. We cause no problems but were approached and yelled at on multiple occassions (like when we came to drop off our beach gear before dinner and had some friends help us with our bags). The train runs across the road at all hours of the day and night. The walls are thin and we were kept awake by noisy neighbours throughout the night (we wondered where their lectures were?) The walking distance to the bars and clubs redeemed it, but not by much..... they provided tea and coffee sachets but no milk? could do with some fresh paint. The other bonus was the sheltered car park - great to keep the sun off your car....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolateyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
For the hundreds of guests who keep returning to stay with us get amused when we show them these reviews to gauge their responses so we can manage our best practices.
It is without exception they all agree with our unique need to ensure guests are reminded when appropriate our Motel is situated in the heart of the Tauranga intertainment centre and is prone to uninvited persons taking advantage of our location and entering the Motel complex to join anyone outside their unit for drinks...because out side our boundary is a "liquor free zone"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

-advantage : location.
located in city central but, that is also one of disadvantage. cuz this motel is surounded many pubs and clubs, especially club is too close to sleep.
-dis. : all of stuffes are too ald to use. BED!! and not enough dishes bowles and so on, one of the worst thing is the service!!! the hostess should be learn how to provide service to customers!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ker0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
We do accept we are close to Tauranga`s entertainment centre...to some thats a bonus to others who want a quite night on a Friday/Saturday it can be noisy at times.
Regarding service I believe my wife (who mostly looks after the motel) is well liked and appreciated by so many returning quests and new ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

We went there because of the good location. But we had really unhappy night. Ive been many motels but i never met any host like her. Never smile, so grumpy and never replied hello or hi to us. And you should know their regulations such as no drinks after 7pm!!!!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank teerak0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Diffilcult to understand how someone could accuse someone of being grumpy...the accommodation business is no different from any other business...you do your utmost to ensure the customer is happy and regardless of all the things that could go wrong and often do...you keep smiling.
In regards to no drinking after 7pm...the notice in the units is pretty simple...it states "no visitors after 7pm...no mention about drinking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour City Motor Inn
Harbour City Motor Inn
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Motel

Property: Strand Motel
Address: 27 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing