We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place”

Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tauranga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Journeying to a city you don't know is bad enough - but not knowing where to stay just only complicates situation. I had the best stay at Bell Lodge. It was clean, spacious, close to amenities, hosts were amazing and informative...everything you want in a backpacker's. I will definitely be staying there again on my next journey while studying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMTauranga, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi there

Many Thanks for the comments, we do try to help everyone staying with us. We were happy to host you, we look forward to having you stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    1
    8
    13
See reviews for
1
8
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bellodge is recomentable to eyeryone who intend to have a prime time in a great area.
The Backpacker is furnished very well for a comfortable stay.
The very friendly Owners, Rick and Sheree helps to find a Job temporal or long term and gives so much hand in traveller's life.
I've spend there 3 long term periods in defferent years and really always had there the yery best stay in New Zealand. It hurts, seeing bad ratings from vindictive backpackers who got problems with other guests and the Owners, because they've been selfish, careless and ignorated the rules. These ones are the only ones makeing other people's life had.
Keep on doing your way, Rick and Sheree, you're doing pretty well.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpssnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMTauranga, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thanks for the review and the support. We have always felt we are on the right track, and whilst we can strive to achieve a really happt place, sometimes it is very hard to do. Thanks for the support, we hope you will be back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have to say im shocked at some of the comments. when i stayed at bell lodge it felt like home from home. rick couldnt do more for us. i was with a group of 4 i was having problems with work and they both sorted it out for us. treat them with respect and thats how you will be treated. They both organised bbq nights and brought the working hostel together. this is not a party hostel but one that helps get work to fund your travelling to the party hostel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltracij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMTauranga, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Travel Traci,

It was a pleasure having the four of you stay. We have always tried to help and do what we can for those staying. It is nice to have someone recognise our efforts. We do hope that the icy slip and bruised ego of Miss BB's is now all good and you are enjoying the rest of your travels together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I am righting this review nearly 3 months after leaving bell lodge for the simple reason that I wanted to put a balanced explanation of the events of bell lodge.

We arrived in a group of four people looking for promised Kiwi orchard work. In the 6 weeks we were there we managed just 9 days work after the promise was lots of work. On our arrival at the hostel the owners were pleasant and helpful, sadly that soon changed and they proceeded to make everyone’s life a misery. Having read through the posts on here what they did to us seems to be repeated over and over again.

On several occasions people were screamed and ranted at for laughing to loud, of sharing a beer outside at 9pm. One occasion in particular the hole hostel had chipped in five bucks to buy a bar-b-q which we had cooked and were just about to settle down and eat when Rick appeared obviously drunk and aggressive about 9.30 and told us that if we didn’t shut up we would have our Ipod docks taken away and be thrown out.

Plates were taken from the kitchen as they claimed they had not been washed but in fact still had food in cooked less than ten minutes before.

Of the group we were staying in the hostel with about 20-30 people left in one week due to the behaviour of the owners, 15+ of us ended up staying on a campsite outside of Tauranga to get away from them.

On our last night there Rick came out of their house obviously Drunk and started to threaten one lad over a box of food with his wife screaming and begging him to stop, he drove his car up and tried to block in this lad telling him that he could only get his car out at the cost of $150 dollars and that if he stepped in side to collect his food he would call the police on him.

The farmers who we worked for were well aware of the problems in bell lodge and where possible used other hostels as they found dealing with Rick and Shiree difficult as well

Having travelled the world and stayed in many hostels, backpackers and guesthouses I can honestly say I have never stayed anywhere as unpleasant and run by people more unsuited to running a hostel than Rick and Shiree. On a positive note we met some amazing people had spent many happy days on the beach avoiding the owner’s rants and tirades.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewind82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMTauranga, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thanks for the comments, we appreciate your honesty. As always we are not in control of weather nor the contractors and we do advise people this on arrival. We do try to get the contractors to speak directly to guests to ensure they are aware of the situation. The times you mention are as it always seems a little different to the time I am getting out of bed to deal with the noise. And yes when 20 - 30 people are outside at 1 - 2 am drunk, laughing and talking it can appear to be loud.
We have always asked guests to party in town not at the Lodge. We should apologise for the incident with the car. It was not appropriate, yet neither was the lad being appropriate after checking out at 10.00am he kept coming back to the lodge to use the facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tauranga hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

If your dieing for a place to stay....go find a camp site because staying here isn't worht the head aches you will get. The owners of this place have no respect for anyone staying here. They treat everybody like children. They demanded (not asked) everybody to attend a stupid meeting where all Rick did was yell at everybody telling them that this was their house and they weren't even guest's in their home. He's the one who judges if your drunk (even after one mouthful) it's his call and if you don't like then get the hell out of their home. Shiree is always sticking her nose in your private buisness even when it doesnt belong there. Internet is nothing but a rip off.

The only good thing about this place are the other backpackers that I met. Most of us decided to leave all at once and move to another hostel together.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCanadaianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMTauranga, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thanks for the comments. We are saddened that you feel this way Mr A Canadian. We needed to reset the limits of the behaviour within the lodge, the drunken goings on leading to damages throught the lodge, people who were not paying and the disgusting state guests were leaving the kitichen in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed for a week at Bell Lodge. Originally my entire stay was booked to stay in a private room with ensuite in the backpackers quarters but given how noisy it was, I decided to move to a motel room.

The backpackers room had a DB, SB and small bedside table. The ensuite was quite large. The bed linen was fine and the bed comfortable. No bathroom towel (or even hand soap) is supplied. There was no room ventilation apart from opening a window, which didn’t have fly screens or any form of security – no go for a single female. The bathroom was quite large. The shower had poor water pressure/temperature. The backpacker rooms are arranged in a U-shape, with the communal TV room, dining area & kitchen, with laundry behind at the top of the ‘U’. In the middle was a nice paved area with some steps. Most of the backpackers are fruit pickers. I had full Next G mobile phone reception. You can buy wifi passes from reception.

The motel room was very spacious: QS bed with lounge, dining & small kitchenette with bar fridge. The bathroom was separate and had heated towel racks. A separate bed room had bunk beds. There was much less noise in the motel rooms, which are located adjacent to the backpackers quarters.

The managers are fantastic – hard working, very friendly & helpful. The location of the Bell Lodge is out of the way – best if you have a car with most things a good 5-10 minute drive away. There is not much in walking distance apart from a small deli and fish and chip shop.

Room Tip: if you want quiet, get a motel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_shark_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

It is really sad to see the bad reviews about Bell Lodge, Sheree and Rick.
I came back here for visiting Sheree, Rick and a few friends who live in Tauranga in March 2011, that is my fourth time here, I was here, Bell Lodge, in 2007, 2008 and 2009, all together like over 15 months, the most fabulous time of my life I would say, met lots of good people here and earned the honor of Most Valuable Picker as a kiwi fruit picker in 2009 from Craig, who is still willing to offer me a work permit even I already left for 2 years, and I always stayed in the bunk room cause I just love it!
I really hated it that Rick took away most of cookers and dishes from the kitchen when people didn't do their dishes, come on people, if you want to be treated as an adult than start acting like one. I believe that there would have no rules needed if you could just manage yourself well as an adult.
I love Bell Lodge, Sheree and Rick, you guys are amazing, and I will keep going back if I can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huiching L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.3 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
Loft 109 Backpackers Hostel
Loft 109 Backpackers Hostel
#30 of 45 in Tauranga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbourside City Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Apple Tree Backpackers
Apple Tree Backpackers
#31 of 45 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.9 mi away
ArtHouse Accommodation Boutique Backpackers
4.5 mi away
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpack...
#8 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel

Property: Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel
Address: 39 Bell Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Tauranga
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheree & Rick, welcome you to Bell Lodge, a purpose built motel and backpackers. Situated in a quiet area 4km from the city. You have the choice of motel units, double or twin en-suite rooms or dorm rooms for 4-8 persons with free car parking. All units and rooms open onto covered decks. We can help you organize local activities such as dolphin swimming, surf lessons, sky diving and more. Come and join us at Bell Lodge in the sunny Bay of Plenty. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing