We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal with family and friends!”
Review of Cafe Zeytin

Cafe Zeytin
Ranked #159 of 382 Restaurants in Tauranga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oki-gun, Shimane, Japan
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice meal with family and friends!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We phoned Zeytin at 4pm...and they had a table for us (16 adults, 2 children) at 8pm.
It took a long time to get drinks...and then even longer to get our meals...but once the food came out I think everyone was very happy with their meals.
I enjoyed eating hummus, falafel, turkish bread etc., food that is difficult to find in Japan where I live.
I recommend this restaurant for a family or large group.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolajones08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    50
    18
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went to Zeytin for a lunch over the New Year period. We shouldn't have bothered.
Poor service & average food.
Gave our drinks order before being seated & still it took over 10 minutes for them to be brought to our table.
We had to ask twice for our garlic bread order. It eventually arrived 20 minutes after ordering.
What annoys me was, they weren't busy.
Ordered the Grilled Spicy Calamari, they must have forgotten to add the spice!
We wont be returning & wouldn't recommend

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only place I go in Tauranga...”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I always look forward to going to Tauranga so that I can eat out at Zeytin. I live in Wellington, but have not found any Mediterranean/Middle Eastern style restaurants here that begin to match the amazing food and value for money that you get at Zeytin. The surroundings are comfortable and open, the staff are helpful even when they are very busy, and the flavours of the food are always something that I look forward to. I love the new style menu too - many of the same items, but more of a meze style so that you can order a platter and several others to share with the table.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
147 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife & I dined here tonight (New Year's Eve) for the second time; we will definitely dine there again. Service was great and the food even better. The pizzas are great as are the Mezes. I would be happy to take friends and family from out of town there any time!
Another great thing is that the cost is easy on the pocket.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Bad service but you don't tip in NZ anyway, right?”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a birthday lunch. It took a while and one of us going to fetch a waiter for them to notice us. Food was really nice - good pizzas and salad. They didn't bring two of the drinks we ordered. We only ordered four so this was a bit poor. It wasn't busy. Wouldn't bother returning as there's a lot of choice along that strip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zeytin also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Cafe Zeytin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing